Book Review: Newsflesh #3: Blackout by Mira Grant

Rating: StarStarStarStar

Genre: Science Fiction > Post – Apocalyptic

(Newsflesh #3)

The year was 2014. The year we cured cancer. The year we cured the common cold. And the year the dead started to walk. The year of the Rising.

The year was 2039. The world didn’t end when the zombies came, it just got worse. Georgia and Shaun Mason set out on the biggest story of their generation. The uncovered the biggest conspiracy since the Rising and realized that to tell the truth, sacrifices have to be made.

Now, the year is 2041, and the investigation that began with the election of President Ryman is much bigger than anyone had assumed. With too much left to do and not much time left to do it in, the surviving staff of After the End Times must face mad scientists, zombie bears, rogue government agencies-and if there’s one thing they know is true in post-zombie America, it’s this:

Things can always get worse.

Book 1: Feed review       Book 2: Deadline review

*****

Shaun Mason, marry me?
(this is me going all-the-way insane with Shaun, but I don’t mind, really)

I’m still grieving. I do not know how to move on and collect my shattered (reading) life after Georgia & Shaun. After Alaric, Maggie, and Mahir. After Becks. *bawling*

It was not what I had in mind for a finale, and I was somewhat felt… cheated. But that’s such a heavy word, right? After all, I did give Blackout a 4-star rating. The story is as engaging, finger-twitching, and mind-numbing as Feed and Deadline, but the ending fell short to what I expected. Yes, I am a little disappointed with how things worked out, but it was still pretty decent ending. I wish… I just wish Mira Grant didn’t have to blast my most favorite character into oblivion. I mean, COME ON! Am I the only one who thought that death was uncalled for? Because if that is all that Grant has to give me for the final book, then I guess Georgia and Shaun were not the true hero and heroine of the Newsflesh Trilogy. Not them, but my favorite character. Georgia and Shaun should’ve been the ones who sacrificed themselves or some sh*t. not my favorite character.*crying again*

In the search for the truth, freedom was the price to pay for Shaun and his team. They are hounded from every side by the CDC. They can no longer publish their posts because of the danger they are in. They are on the run. And things are about to get blown one way or another.

The ending of Deadline stumped me like a freaking zombie who just got shot (but kept advancing anyway to its intended victim). I moved on to Blackout shocked, dazed, and on-the-high excited. This is a new level of ecstasy! The science behind Kellis-Amberlee virus was explained further. It was believable enough. Thus, the danger for a new strain of KA virus is more deadly.

I found some loose ends. Shaun’s condition, that’s one. CDC’s master puppeteer, that’s two. Is Blackout really the last book?!! Perhaps, I miss the last book?!! No? This was it? Sigh. The ending wasn’t spectacular. It’s not that I don’t want a happy ending for Shaun (with all that’s taken from him, right?), but it was not f*cking fulfilling… Oh man, someone get me out of this (book) misery!

At least, the semi-subtle insinuations about Georgia and Shaun since Feed were answered. I didn’t think it was gimmicky nor forced, for I sensed Grant really intended for them to end that way. I might be in the minority here, but I really liked this part.

It doesn’t matter that I have issues with Blackout, because I would still recommend it. Newsflesh trilogy is edgy, ruthless, and brutally awesome! If you are feeling a little violent (toward zombies, of course) and a tad bit crazy, PLEASE read FeedDeadline, and Blackout. This is zombie apocalypse with a lot of BITE (pun intended).

One thought on “Book Review: Newsflesh #3: Blackout by Mira Grant

  1. Pingback: Blackout - One More Page

Hello! Lemme know what you think :)