Book Review: Intangible by J. Meyers

Rating: StarStarStar

Genre: Young Adult > Paranormal

Twins Sera and Luke Raine have a well-kept secret—she heals with a touch of her hand, he sees the future. All their lives they’ve helped those in need on the sly. They’ve always thought of their abilities as being a gift.

Then Luke has a vision that Sera is killed. That gift they’ve always cherished begins to feel an awful lot like a curse. Because the thing about Luke’s ability? He’s always right. And he can’t do anything about it.

(An ebook copy was sent to me by the author in exchange for an honest review.)

*****

Intangible has potential. It would’ve been good if not for Sera’s overdramatic antics. I like Luke’s POV more than Sera’s. Luke is funny and 100% teenage boy! I enjoyed his musings, especially his ‘Fey’ musings. haha! Meyer’s writing is easy to get into. And did i mentioned i totally dig that book cover?

Oh, this is about vampires and elves. How the ‘Children of the Prophecy’ can change the real world and the Realm. How Sera and Luke are threats to these creatures.

Intangible started out strong. But then the love interest came along. Marc. Aargh. I despise him. Something about his character that is so unlikeable. Good thing Luke’s prophecy about Marc came true. I wouldn’t like him to be a part of Sera’s and Luke’s life.

It’s surprising that the secondary characters is what attracted me more in the story: Fey and Jonas. They are true to their nature and more bad-*ss than the twins.

I liked how the story panned out. I just lost interest in the middle when Sera’s teenage drama commenced. Eventually, it led me to think that the story is too long. And it was not explained how Marc ‘thudded’ the vamps into unconsciousness. Ha! I know ‘thudded’ is not a verb, but that’s what comes to mind (there are a lot of ‘thuds’ involved when the vamps went down).

Hey, if you are into paranormal stuff, i think you will love Intangible. The ending was quite satisfying should this be a standalone.

 

Book Review: Newsflesh #2: Deadline by Mira Grant

Rating: StarStarStarStarStar

Genre: Science Fiction > Post – Apocalyptic

(Newsflesh #2)

Shaun Mason is a man without a mission. Not even running the news organization he built with his sister has the same urgency as it used to. Playing with dead things just doesn’t seem as fun when you’ve lost as much as he has.

But when a CDC researcher fakes her own death and appears on his doorstep with a ravenous pack of zombies in tow, Shaun has a newfound interest in life. Because she brings news-he may have put down the monster who attacked them, but the conspiracy is far from dead.

Now, Shaun hits the road to find what truth can be found at the end of a shotgun.

Literary Awards: Hugo Award Nominee for Best Novel (2012), Philip K. Dick Award Nominee (2011)

Book 1: Feed review

*****

HAUNTING.

What the f*ck is going on here?

If Feed murdered me with its ending, Deadline is far more torturous. It tore my heart to pieces every single time that Shaun speaks, muses, and curses. How is it that I adore this male POV (Shaun) which is more bitter, more f*cked-up, and more “to-hell-with-them” angry? Simple. I just love Mira Grant’s brutal writing.

I found Deadline more entertaining than its prequel. The nasty humor, the biting remarks, and the raw mourning all gripped me into submission – i cannot put this down!

No boring moments when Shaun is the narrator. The conspiracy is still alive and more dangeruous than ever. Together with Shaun are Becks (my heroine!),Alaric (sweet geek), Maggie (cool heiress), and Mahir (unrequited love for…). All characters are phenomenal, each with his/her own distinct personality. I enjoyed Becks the most: her spunk, and her audacity (to Shaun!). Georgia is quite the surprise. The story that unfolded in the midst of them is bigger than i’d hoped, better than i dare imagined from Grant’s sick and twisted mind. Oh, my heart is so deliriously happy with the suspense and betrayal!

The Newsflesh Trilogy just got personal. Shaun Mason just captured my heart. In between terror and grief, I found solace in the incomparable relationships of the characters. And for some reason, i want Shaun’s brand of craziness if ever I find myself in his shoes.