Elated (or not): Blackout messed me up BIG time!

So, I’m really behind with my NetGalley reading. I started Tempest by Julie Cross last month but I’m not getting it so I put it on hold. Today, I picked it up again. There’s a scene where Jackson picked a song from Holly’s iPod to prove to her he can waltz. You Don’t Know Me by Jann Arden. Well, that ringed a bell.

You give your hand to me and then you say hello
And I can hardly speak my heart is beating so
And anyone can tell you think you know me well
But you don’t know me

I scanned my pile of CDs. Ah, there it is. Track 3 from My Best Friend’s Wedding Original Soundtrack. Yes. I remembered I like this song. Melancholy. Wistful. I played the track over and over. Poor me, for I only realized that this song is about unrequited love. Yeah, join the club! Well, I did. Once or twice, maybe? Hmmm.

No you don’t know the one, who dreams of you at night
And longs to kiss your lips, longs to hold you tight
Oh, I am just a friend, that’s all I’ve ever been
‘Cause you don’t know me

I remembered Becks from the Newsflesh trilogy by Mira Grant. 😦 sigh. There’s this blog entry there by Becks where she’s sarcastically saying, “OMG, I wonder if he’ll ever get over his stupid dead sister and love me”. Ha! My sentiments exactly. But… it is never easy, right? One-sided love?

I never knew the art of making love
No my heart aches with love for you
Afraid and shy I let my chance go by
The chance that you might love me too

I also remembered I didn’t like the ending of My Best Friend’s Wedding. Well, it’s my first time to watch Julia Roberts not getting the guy. Sue me. True Love, you suck!

You give your hand to me and then you say goodbye
I watch you walk away beside the lucky guy
Oh, you will never know, the one who loves you so
Well you don’t know me

Man, I still could not get over Blackout. I am not in a state of writing a proper review, so yeah, I’m trying to say “I’m bummed with what happened in the end” through this song.

*exits before you see me crying over some zombie book (again)*