Me and Printz

According to Wikipedia,

Michael L. Printz Award

an American Library Association literary award that annually recognizes the “best book written for teens, based entirely on its literary merit”

I’ve been pressured lately which books to read. A lot of new titles coming up, and i still can’t seemed to make a dent on my growing TBR pile. 😦

Well, me and Printz started off at the wrong foot. I picked up Looking for Alaska not because it is a (2006) Printz awardee, but because a lot of my Goodreads friends love John Green. Alas, me and John were not meant to be (that time). Eventually, I went sour too, with Printz.

Moving on, I found Jellicoe Road by Melina Marchetta and how. i. love. it. back then, i didn’t know it is a Printz Award winner (2009).

Fast forward to Lips Touch: Three Times. It is a National Book Award Finalist, another book award apart from Printz. It was really good. Somehow, I have this not-so-uncommon notion: why don’t i read more award-winning books? worth a shot. after all, i’ve been picking books lately that are not quite in tune with my reading tastes: Lord of the Flies. Bittersweet. Liesl & Po. Yeah, i think i’m going to venture to book awardees more.

So. I tried a 2011 Printz Honor, Please Ignore Vera Dietz. Yes! Next, I read a William C. Morris YA Debut Award Nominee, Hold Me Closer, Necromancer. Yes again! I’m having luck with this, don’t you think? 🙂

Given the kind of frenzy i’m in with this award-winning books, i believe i will stay in this boat for a while. Hope i won’t get saturated!

Next stop:

 

Chime by Franny Billingsley, 2011 National Book Award Nominee

Ship Breaker by Paolo Bacigalupi, 2011 Printz Award Winner & 2010 National Book Award Nominee

Going Bovine by Libba Bray, 2010 Printz Award Winner

A Northern Light by Jennifer Donnelly, 2004 Printz Honor

What do you think? Have you read them? 🙂