Book Review: Unearthly #2: Hallowed by Cynthia Hand

RATING: StarStarStarStar

Genre: Young Adult > Urban Fantasy | Supernatural

(Unearthly #2)

For months part-angel Clara Gardner trained to face the raging forest fire from her visions and rescue the alluring and mysterious Christian Prescott from the blaze. But nothing could prepare her for the fateful decisions she would be forced to make that day, or the startling revelation that her purpose—the task she was put on earth to accomplish—is not as straightforward as she thought.

Now, torn between her increasingly complicated feelings for Christian and her love for her boyfriend, Tucker, Clara struggles to make sense of what she was supposed to do the day of the fire. And, as she is drawn further into the world of part angels and the growing conflict between White Wings and Black Wings, Clara learns of the terrifying new reality that she must face: Someone close to her will die in a matter of months. With her future uncertain, the only thing Clara knows for sure is that the fire was just the beginning.

Book 1: Unearthly review

*****

ABSOLUTE.

Hallowed left my heart in tatters. While reading, I experienced a lot of heartbreak and loss in more ways than one. Could it be that Unearthly‘s sucess be succinctly followed? I dare say YES. Despite my misgivings on minor inconsistencies in the story, this is a superb sequel. SO not a middle book, you guys. Apart from Angelfall, Unearthly is one of the best YA angel series there is for me. Hallowed cemented that belief.

I really, really like Clara. She’s funny, sarcastic, and honest to a fault. Her defining trait? Unwillingness to submit and depend her life on fate. Her conviction is unbelievable! Christian is so hard to hate, me being Team Tucker and all. He’s the perfect friend and ally. His character is flawed, but still Cynthia Hand wrote him with such delicate trust that readers like me will like him in spite of the love triangle. Tucker… man, I miss him. Not a lot of scenes here but if he’s present, i felt him vibrant and alive. i remembered Clara falling in love with him, fighting for him in the previous book. In the end, he was so mature that i applauded him. Now there’s a man who really knows how to love. *sigh*

Clara’s angelic heritage seems too good to be true. The similarities between her and Christian to fully capture their “we belong together” drama is a stretch for me. I found an inconsistency between the Intangere and Black Wings that made me raise an eyebrow…? Oh, well.

Hallowed is a heartwrenching read, romance-wise and family wise. Many times Cynthia Hand tempted me to spill my tears. Believe me, the tightness in my chest is there. That ending is too sad. Crap, i think i’ll sulk for a while. *walks out*

*

*

.: maria :.

“giving up is the ultimate tragedy.”

11 thoughts on “Book Review: Unearthly #2: Hallowed by Cynthia Hand

  1. I just finished Unearthly and LOVED it. I’m so looking forward to reading Hallowed. I agree with you about Christian; you really want to dislike him but you can’t! I’m all for Tucker but there’s something seriously special about Christian that makes you love him. Also, sad ending? Oh no!

  2. I just skimmed your review because I just received my copy today and want to be surprised. But one thing I notice over and over in reviews is that this is one sad book! Glad to hear it doesn’t have middle book syndrome. I’m even more excited to read it now!

  3. Pingback: Hallowed by Cynthia Hand « The Reading Date

  4. Pingback: COVERed: Requiem, Fragments, Boundless « reading is the ultimate aphrodisiac.

  5. Pingback: Book Review: Unearthly #3: Boundless by Cynthia Hand « reading is the ultimate aphrodisiac.

Hello! Lemme know what you think :)