Feature & Follow Friday [7]

Alison Can Read Feature & Follow

Click the image to know what Feature and Follow Friday is all about.

[Follow Friday is now hosted by TWO hosts, Parajunkee’s View and Alison of Alison Can Read.]

Featured Bloggers: Readiculously-Peachy and Gone Bookserk

Q: What is a book you didn’t like that all your friends raved about or what book did you love that wasn’t popular?

A: I did not know what the fuss is all about, with The Truth About Forever by Sarah Dessen and The Scorpio Races by Maggie Stiefvater. I just didn’t see the charm in them. Wes was not swoon-worthy, and Stiefvater’s writing (though good) led to nowhere. And then there’s The Hitchhiker’s Guide to the Galaxy by Douglas Adams. This one’s barely made it to my laugh meter. And my friends tell me it hilarious. Where? Where! 😀

Now I love The Queen’s Thief series by Megan Whalen Turner and only few of my friends have only read them. I can hardly believe that MWT’s works are underrated more often than not.

x-x-x

Link me up in the comments section. 🙂

[Follow me via RSS Feed or Goodreads ]

x-x-x

Do not forget to join my 2nd BLOGOVERSARY Giveaway (International)!

2Blogbdaygiveaway

..

maria

28 thoughts on “Feature & Follow Friday [7]

  1. Hopping through. I loved The Scorpio Races, but I think it was partly because I wanted to like it. If it was the first Stiefvater book I’d read and if I hadn’t enjoyed meeting her at signings I don’t know if I would have had the patience to deal with it. But eventually it stuck and I fell in love with it.
    My Hop

  2. Hey, thanks for the visit!
    Well, it took me a while but I eventually ended up loving the Scorpio Races, I’m really into Stiefvater’s writing.
    But I understand your thoughts on Terry Pratchett, he’s about as funny as my old math teacher who used to laugh about his jokes all the time spitting on the pupils sitting at the front. 😉

  3. Contemporary books are not my thing so I wouldn’t know about the first book your talking about. And although I did like The Scorpio Races, I didn’t love it either. There wasn’t enough action for me. xD

    Thanks for stopping by!
    Daphne @ Reading Until Dawn

  4. I wanted to read the Scorpion Races because I kind of liked Shiver, but then I read The Raven Boy and didn’t like it at all so I’m not sure I want to invest in the Scorpion Races.

    I’m following you via email with the name kiaranyu.-

    Thanks for stopping by FF.

  5. Ah.. I actually liked The Truth About Forever, guess I just connected with the story about unexpectedly losing a loved one.
    Just checked out the Thief and it seems like a nice read. Just might check it out =)

    Thanks for stopping by my FF. Following back via rss and goodreads.

  6. I think humorous books are some of the hardest to recommend — everyone sees humor so differently! I’ve had the same experience with a book, although I don’t think I’ve ever read Hitchhikers…Thanks for visiting! Happy reading!

  7. I totally hear you on The Scorpio Races! I was bored out of my mind in that book. Who ever knew that flesh-eating horses could be so yawn-inducing?!

    Thanks for stopping by! Following back. 🙂

    Ems

  8. Thanks for stopping by my FF post earlier. I actually loved the Scorpio Races, I think it was partly because it was a stand-alone. All new books seem to be part of a series these days. And while I love series, sometimes it’s actually nice to get a story all wrapped up in a single book.

    I’m a new RSS follower, and I’ve added you to Goodreads as well. Have a wonderful weekend.

  9. I’m a new follower on Twitter. I haven’t read what you mentioned either but I have Sarah Dessen on my list of authors to read. Very cool blog!

  10. Hi! New follower via RSS! I’ve definitely heard mixed reviews on The Scorpio Races so you’re not the only one there! The Hitchhikers Guide to the Galaxy came highly recommended to me by one of my dear friends but I haven’t read it yet…I’m scared I won’t like it >.< haha Thanks for sharing 🙂

    Micheline @ Lunar Rainbows

    • Hi Micheline! At least now you know what you’re getting yourself into, with these books. But I am hoping you’ll like them more than I did. Thank you 🙂

Hello! Lemme know what you think :)