Top Ten Best/Worst Movie Adaptations

Top Ten Tuesday is a weekly feature from The Broke and The Bookish.

I need to catch up on watching book-to-movie adaptations! I haven’t watched  84, Charing Cross Road, Cloud Atlas, The Road, and The Great Gatsby, to name a few. =(

The list below means I both read the book and watched the movie. I only have 2 worst adaptations in the list (last two at the bottom). So that’s good, right? 😉

the girl with the dragon tattoo

larsson1

  • The Lord of the Rings Trilogy by J.R.R. Tolkien – it was hard to imagine Tolkien’s Middle Earth and it’s inhabitants. Thank goodness I actually liked the movie tie-ins.
  • Life of Pi by Yann Martel – love Richard Parker, even in the big screen! Oh, he’s animation. Who cares!
  • Jane Eyre by Charlotte Bronte – I loved the movie more than the novel. This is the classic I think I would watch over and over.
  • Angus, Thongs, and Full Frontal Snogging by Louise Rennison – still funny and even more romantic in film. Aaron Johnson! *swoon*
  • Nick & Norah’s Infinite Playlist by Rachel Cohn and David Levithan – I thoroughly enjoyed Michael Cera in this adaptation. (I think I have a massive crush on him *winks*)
  • The Hunger Games by Suzanne Collins – for a book that so awesome, the movie is more or less a good reflection of it.
  • The Time Traveler’s Wife by Audrey Niffenegger – terrible adaptation. It was frustrating to watch it, for I am in love with the novel.
  • Beautiful Creatures by Kami Garcia and Magaret Stohl – ah, I watched this one to pass the time during my long flight to the US. I was feeling sour after I read Beautiful Chaos already. When I watched this? Now I am wondering why I was into this series.

What’s on your list? Link me up! 😀

16 thoughts on “Top Ten Best/Worst Movie Adaptations

  1. Aaaaay! We have completely opposing views about The Time Traveler’s Wife movie. Haha! I’ve forgotten about Angus,Thongs..I thought the movie was loads of fun. The girl who played Georgia was perfect. She got the mannerisms of the character down pat. 😀 .

  2. Ya, the Beautiful Creatures film was good the first half. I loved the romantic leads and the casting, and there were a lot of funny parts, but the ending pretty much screwed everything up for me. It was supposed to be this big finale and instead it was this weird mish-mash of things they threw in. Oh well.

  3. Beautiful Creatures… oh that movie. I have issues with. I was reading the book and about half way though when an ad for the film came on the TV… I was FRUSTRATED! because they ruined one of the big twists. I never got around to watching the movie because I Was that annoyed.

    Which version of Jane Eyre did you love? I’ve seen a few and can’t make up my mind.

Hello! Lemme know what you think :)