Book Review: The Fault in our Stars by John Green

17118893StarStarStarStar

Young Adult > Contemporary | Realistic Fiction

Despite the tumor-shrinking medical miracle that has bought her a few years, Hazel has never been anything but terminal, her final chapter inscribed upon diagnosis. But when a gorgeous plot twist named Augustus Waters suddenly appears at Cancer Kid Support Group, Hazel’s story is about to be completely rewritten.

Insightful, bold, irreverent, and raw, The Fault in Our Stars is award-winning author John Green’s most ambitious and heartbreaking work yet, brilliantly exploring the funny, thrilling, and tragic business of being alive and in love.

x-x-x

It looks like I still have a problem with John Green‘s endings. Still, I adore Augustus Waters. The perfect dose of medicine for swoon-seeking readers like me.

I was not ready to be in tears when I started The Fault in Our Stars. Come page 25, I was closing my borrowed copy and mulling about putting it down after my emotions calmed. That scene with her father, when she was near death, oh the heartbreak for any parent…! My unshed tears I kept in check, I was literally choking from it. =(

Then it dawned on me how JG can easily suck me into his gem stories.

I was okay with Hazel, but I was more focused on Augustus. His character was so vibrant, so electrifyingly alive! I was fully charmed by him. Augustus’ presence in the pages was so strong that I actually felt the loss when he’s not in it. Awesome writing, JG. 😉

I am happy with Hazel‘s admirable relationship with her parents. Because if there’s anything she needs, it’s the endless support and unconditional love she got from her mom and dad.

Whoever thought that a pre-funeral would be the best thing in this book? I loved every bit of it.

A little anti-climactic for me, but the ending was sort of joyous (triumphant, even) if you were to look it at a different way.

x-x-x

THE FAULT IN OUR STARS by John Green

Paperback, 316 pages

Published January 3rd 2013 by Penguin Books

4/5 stars

5 thoughts on “Book Review: The Fault in our Stars by John Green

  1. Pingback: The Fault in Our Stars- John Green | Lucybird's Book Blog

Hello! Lemme know what you think :)