Book Review: Sharp Objects by Gillian Flynn

18283314StarStarStarStar

Genre: General Fiction > Mystery & Suspense > Thriller

Fresh from a brief stay at a psych hospital, reporter Camille Preaker faces a troubling assignment: She must return to her tiny hometown to cover the murders of two preteen girls. For years, Camille has hardly spoken to her neurotic, hypochondriac mother or to the half-sister she barely knows: a beautiful thirteen-year-old with an eerie grip on the town. Now, installed in her old bedroom in her family’s Victorian mansion, Camille finds herself identifying with the young victims—a bit too strongly. Dogged by her own demons, she must unravel the psychological puzzle of her own past if she wants to get the story—and survive this homecoming.

Literary Awards: Barry Award Nominee for Best First Novel (2007), The Crime Writers’ Association New Blood Dagger (2007), Edgar Award Nominee for Best First Novel (2007), The Crime Writers’ Association Ian Fleming Steel Dagger (2007)

x-x-x

Disturbing is Gillian Flynn‘s middle name.

I love Gone Girl, so naturally I would try another Gillian Flynn novel. Sharp Objects is just as gripping, me reading it overnight is a solid proof of that. I admit I expected something more, but It is a well researched psychological thriller IMO.

There is always something creepy about small towns (take Cryer’s Cross, for instance). Camille Preaker wanted nothing to do with hers anymore. But the pull of unsolved crimes is too intriguing for an upcoming reporter like her. Going back to her family’s Victorian mansion to stay while she research the story, Camille found herself plunged to her childhood nightmare, all over again. (Sweet.)

300+ pages is nothing to me, if Gillian Flynn wrote it! She painted Camille’s horrid past vividly, leaving me to believe a non-existent future is in store for her MC. I understood now that there will never be a happy ending for her characters. And I am fine with that. 😀

I was a little miffed with the incompetence of the local police over forensic evidence. Hello, Detective Willis, that’s you.

When the truth came out in the open, I thought Camille’s story is finished. Silly me, because the twist is still around the corner, begging to be released. I expected that after a few chapters, thought I was wrong, but it turned out I was right in the end! *pats self on the back*

Now, let’s see… Dark Places, I will read you soon.

x-x-x

SHARP OBJECTS by Gillian Flynn

Paperback, 396 pages

Published 2013 by Crown

4/5 stars

11 thoughts on “Book Review: Sharp Objects by Gillian Flynn

  1. Flynn really writes disturbing stories. I agree with that. Dark Places (the movie adaptation) will be released later this year, as well as Gone Girl. Would be interesting how her novels would translate to the big screen.

      • Yup. That makes me happy since they stuck to the book’s description of those two, unlike other book to movie adaptations. However, I’m not quite as convinced about Charlize Theron as the lead in Dark Places. The girl there (can’t remember her name) is supposed to be this tiny, petite slip of a girl. Charlize looks far too physically imposing for that description.

  2. Pingback: Challenge: 2014 Off-the-Shelf Challenge | reading is the ultimate aphrodisiac.

Hello! Lemme know what you think :)

