Book Review: What My Mother Doesn’t Know by Sonya Sones

170529StarStarStarStar

Young Adult > Contemporary

My name is Sophie.
This book is about me.
It tells
the heart-stoppingly riveting story
of my first love.
And also of my second.
And, okay, my third love, too.

It’s not that I’m boy crazy.
It’s just that even though
I’m almost fifteen
it’s like
my mind
and my body
and my heart
just don’t seem to be able to agree
on anything.

Literary Awards:ย South Carolina Book Award Nominee for Young Adult Book Award (2004), Michigan Library Association Thumbs Up! Award Nominee (2002), Iowa Teen Award (2006), ALA Top Ten Quick Pick for Reluctant Young Adult Readers (2002)

x-x-x

Ah, yes. Thank you for making my 60-minute bus ride home very enjoyable. Simple, and sweet. And sometimes, I just need something simple to read ๐Ÿ™‚

I’ve read some contemporary YA, and I think What My Mother Doesn’t Know fully captures why I like reading this genre. It is because a story so simple, so ordinary, and so obviously relatable, can make me smile, and make me feel good.

I love the prose, I love it! Funny and familiar, if I can somehow put only it into two words. The gist is this: Sophie is boy-crazy. And amidst the hits and misses she have with the opposite sex, she ends up liking (and falling in love with) the most unlikely boy. ๐Ÿ™‚

I found myself looking back, when I was Sophie’s age. Reading how she clumsy her way through high school (and with boys), I wonder if I was like her back then..? I can only laugh now, for the awkward moments Sophie have with adolescence can sometimes be too real for me. Worth a cringe, if you ask me.

It is safe to say that beautiful words matching a sweet story is a sure recipe for a romantic read? With What My Mother Doesn’t Know, it sure is.

(Tina, I need book 2!)

x-x-x

WHATย MY MOTHER DOESN’T KNOW by Sonya Sones

Paperback, 261 pages

Publishedย February 2003 by Simon & Schuster Books for Young Readers

4/5 stars

One thought on “Book Review: What My Mother Doesn’t Know by Sonya Sones

  1. Pingback: Book Review: What My Girlfriend Doesn’t Know by Sonya Sones | reading is the ultimate aphrodisiac.

Hello! Lemme know what you think :)

