Book Review: What My Girlfriend Doesn’t Know by Sonya Sones

2856830StarStarStarStar

Young Adult > Contemporary

(What My Mother Doesn’t Know #2)

My name is Robin.
This book is about me.
It tells the story of what happens
when after almost 15 pathetic years of loserdom,
the girl of my dreams finally falls for me.

That seems like it would be
a good thing, right?
Only it turns out to be
a lot more complicated than that

Because I’m not gonna lie to you —
there are naked women involved.
Four of them, to be exact.
Though not in the way you might think.

Don’t get me wrong — my girlfriend’s amazing.
But the way things have been going lately,
I’m starting to believe that the only thing worse
than not getting what you want,

is getting it.

Literary Awards: ALA Quick Picks for Reluctant Young Adult Readers (2008), Wyoming Soaring Eagle Nominee (2013)

Book 1: What My Mother Doesn’t Know review

x-x-x

I am swept away again. 🙂 Sonya Sones, how do you that?!

This time, it’s about Robin. And I adore this boy!

What happens next when you finally get the girl of your dreams? Robin is clueless. But as he navigate his way through Sophie’s heart, he realized that she might be suffering socially from their relationship. Sounds absurd, right? But where Robin is coming from, it sounds very legit, and very scary.

I think I enjoyed Robin’s POV a little bit more than Sophie’s (from What My Mother Doesn’t Know). I found his thoughts spot-on with his feelings: raw, in awe, in love! The verse here in What My Girlfriend Doesn’t Know is more honest, more romantic, and sometimes more painful.

The swoon you will get from Robin and Sophie will come from reading between the beautiful lines of Sonya Sones‘s writing =) The rush of falling in love is here, together with the classic mistake one makes when you have the everything you want.

I think I’m going to buy my own copies of this series, because these books are worth a reread. 😀

x-x-x

WHAT MY GIRLFRIEND DOESN’T KNOW by Sonya Sones

Paperback, 320 pages

Published December 16th 2008 by Simon & Schuster Books for Young Readers

4/5 stars

Hello! Lemme know what you think :)

