Book Review: Unteachable by Leah Raeder

17978680-2StarStar

New Adult > Contemporary

I met him at a carnival, of all corny places. The summer I turned eighteen, in that chaos of neon lights and cheap thrills, I met a man so sweet, so beautiful, he seemed to come from another world. We had one night: intense, scary, real. Then I ran, like I always do. Because I didn’t want to be abandoned again.

But I couldn’t run far enough.

I knew him as Evan that night. When I walked into his classroom, he became Mr. Wilke.

My teacher.

I don’t know if what we’re doing is wrong. The rules say one thing; my heart says screw the rules. I can’t let him lose his job. And I can’t lose him.

In the movies, this would have a happy ending. I grow up. I love, I lose, I learn. And I move on. But this is life, and there’s no script. You make it up as you go along.

And you don’t pray for a happy ending. You pray for it to never end.

x-x-x

Beautiful writing… but the love story is more of sex than of atually knowing each other. And an open ending would’ve been nicer.

I felt icky and uncomfortable. Ha! It’s surprising that I found Unteachable’s theme more awkward and eyebrow-raising than Forbidden‘s. 🙂

I like how Leah Raeder writes. I do, I really do. But I felt disconnected with Maise and her troubled life. And I was incredulous when she constantly claims that she’s more matured than her mother. Well, is she? Not! She doesn’t want to face the responsibility of secretly traipsing around school with his teacher Evan. She carelessly throws her life out the window  when she doesn’t care if she gets caught, making out (petting heavily, and almost having sex) with Evan inside his classroom. It’s not the teacher-student relationship that bothered me, no. It’s the reckless idea that you can do all those things without consequences, because Maise gets away with it. And it excites her every time. Tell  me: is that love?

The unhealthy obsession of Evan on Maise is pretty much glorified, because he’s young, and gorgeous, and hot. And did I mention he says the sweetest things? Even I will let him get into my pants, hearing what Maise hears every time he whispers those syrupy words.

I guess there’s a thin line for me between liking them as a pair, and being utterly grossed out by their lewdness. At some point, I thought their scenes are sexy, but I remember, they don’t even know each other that well! Should Maise really trust this guy, a shady past like his?

Unteachable missed its mark on me. And yeah, I bought this on Kindle in a whim. Seems like I have a habit of buying those books that are not worth it. Look how it went with The Secret of Ella and Micha.

Read this if only for the attractive writing. The ending does not even sounds realistic. Ack.

x-x-x

UNTEACHABLE by Leah Raeder

Kindle Edition, 356 pages

Published July 27th 2013 by Velvet Pony Press

2/5 stars

2 thoughts on “Book Review: Unteachable by Leah Raeder

  1. I think the distinction here for me is that this is erotica, and erotica is about the fantasy–and a big part of the fantasy with student/teacher stuff is the fact that it is wrong. When books, like Slammed, try to twist things around and remove the ickiness of a truly unethical situation, it feels dishonest to me. Basically, I think Unteachable does the student/teacher affair thing RIGHT. But if you are not into that particular fantasy (I usually am not; I read this at Wendy’s recommendation), then this book is probably TERRIBLE for you.

    • I actually read this book because of Wendy Darling’s starred review in GR. I’m thinking this is not erotica because if I categorize Unteachable as such, then it would be a lame one. I haven’t read Slammed, so I cannot compare. This is TERRIBLE for me because Maise did not improve for the better, and Evan did not learn anything from his past. And let’s not talk about fantasy, it’s not even about that for me. I have nothing against student-teacher relationship. It’s the lack of consequences for Maise that I am totally against.

Hello! Lemme know what you think :)

