Book Review: Game by Barry Lyga

gameRating: StarStarStar

Genre: Young Adult > Mystery | Suspense

(Jasper Dent #2)

Billy grinned. “Oh, New York,” he whispered. “We’re gonna have so much fun.”

I Hunt Killers introduced the world to Jazz, the son of history’s most infamous serial killer, Billy Dent.

In an effort to prove murder didn’t run in the family, Jazz teamed with the police in the small town of Lobo’s Nod to solve a deadly case. And now, when a determined New York City detective comes knocking on Jazz’s door asking for help, he can’t say no. The Hat-Dog Killer has the Big Apple–and its police force–running scared. So Jazz and his girlfriend, Connie, hop on a plane to the big city and get swept up in a killer’s murderous game.

Book 1: I Hunt Killers review

x-x-x

… I thought Game was messy. but it turned out alright in the end. And Uh, what ending? Such a cliffhanger.

I remembered loving I Hunt Killers because of my fascination with books of the serial killer theme. Now I am not so keen on it’s sequel. It was too complicated, the intricacy of the crimes was too much to be handled in a single installment. I did not even like Connie’s POV (I find her cheap, Ha!). The ending saved Game‘s life in my eyes. It was not the cliffhanger, though. It was the promise, a dark promise, from Billy Dent of things to come. *grins*

Jasper Dent did not understand how he can help the New York Police Department with the case they have at hand. A serial killer is carving his way into NY streets, and the cops know zilch on who it is. It’s funny to see Jasper psyching them out, or how the detective who asked for his help was actually afraid of him (when the detective realized that Jasper is very much like his father, Billy). They thought Jasper is all good, unlike Billy. Well, they should know better. =D

A lot of players in the game. Billy’s presence, both in Jasper’s psyche and in real life, was entertaining. He really is one sick, psychotic killer! And the way he sounds so normal, so freakin’ ordinary made him a worthy serial killer for me. My bad boy is living up to his name!

I hope Blood Of My Blood will be better than Game. The evil that is just trying to get out of Jasper Dent might just… get out, finally. And wouldn’t that be nice? Woot!

Not to mention I want to see Billy Dent in action. As sick as it sounds, I am a fan, Billy. 🙂

x-x-x

GAME by Barry Lyga

Hardcover, 520 pages

Published April 16th 2013 by Little, Brown Books for Young Readers

3/5 stars

Hello! Lemme know what you think :)

