Required Reading: January

rr2014-01

Feature by Tina of I Like It Dog-Eared

I want to do this right, this feature I mean. I will make sure to include only 2-3 books in my monthly required reading. Why, you ask? Because, the OC in me will protest like crazy if i did not finish the promised books on time. 😀

Besides, I want to relax, and just read whatever the mood I am in. I am aiming for gut feel and pick the books I want to read. Agree?

..

December Reading Report

5/5: World After, Harry Potter and the Sorcerer’s Stone (a reread)

4/5: Exit Kingdom, These Broken Stars, Into the Still Blue

Favorite Quote:

The Potters smiled and waved at Harry and stared hungrily back at them, his hands pressed flat against the glass as though he was hoping to fall right through it and reach them. He had a powerful kind of ache inside him, half joy, half terrible sadness.

..

January Reads

  • The Ocean at the End of the Lane by Neil Gaiman – It’s been years since I last read Gaiman, and it was The Graveyard Book. I only read one other Gaiman, American Gods, and it was a miss for me. So here’s to trying Gaiman again and finally mark me as a fan. 😉
  • Wolf Hall by Hilary Mantel – Prologue greeted me with a violent streak. I was like, hmmm, maybe this won’t be a laborious read? Ha! This Man Booker Prize awardee piqued my interest late last year. This just might be my kind of suspenseful read that I’ve been waiting for. Hope it works! Buddy reading with sis Monique, chami Angus, and (what shall I call her…) old soul Veronica. 🙂 Let’s do this, buddies!

IMG_1210

Drop by Tina‘s page, and visit other Required Reading links on her comments section. 😉

Happy reading this first month of 2014. *grins*

Cheers!

9 thoughts on “Required Reading: January

  1. I love Gaiman but I struggled with American Gods. I can’t recommend his book Neverwhere enough though, it’s one of my favourite books!

Hello! Lemme know what you think :)

