Book Review: What We Talk About When We Talk About Love by Raymond Carver

wwtawwtalStarStarStar

General Fictionย > Short Stories

In his second collection of stories, as in his first, Carver’s characters are peripheral people–people without education, insight or prospects, people too unimaginative to even give up. Carver celebrates these men and women.

x-x-x

Ah, the beauty of short stories ๐Ÿ™‚

It’s a good thing I am introduced to gems like these, once in a while. If only to help pass the time while riding a bus. Or fill up the loss of having left Illium the Kindle at home. Heh.

The stories depict ordinary lives of ordinary people. The uniqueness of this book being special lies at the tone of Carver’s writing, at the mood evoked from me through the exchange of emotions. But the stories did not linger with me, not that much. Well okay, the only vivid memory I had is about The Bath. The rest? Fragments in minute proportions.

Perhaps my unfamiliarity with reading short stories are to blame for my dissatisfaction. The ability to construct the story without the obvious storytelling was abnormally absent when I was reading this. ๐Ÿ˜ฆ Because Carver’s talent is in the “reading between the lines”. At least I got that, yeah? =) Carver’s writing initially appeared simple, but upon closer inspection on his stories, he tells a lot more.

Sigh.

I wish I could retain more of what occurred in What We Talk About When We Talk About Love, because I believe it is something special. Only I missed it.

Perhaps, a reread is in order? ๐Ÿ˜‰

x-x-x

WHAT WE TALK ABOUT WHEN WE TALK ABOUT LOVE by Raymond Carver

Paperback, 164 pages

Published June 18th 1989 by Vintage

3/5 stars

4 thoughts on “Book Review: What We Talk About When We Talk About Love by Raymond Carver

Hello! Lemme know what you think :)

