Book Review: World After by Susan Ee

world afterStarStarStarStarStar

Young Adult > Post-Apocalyptic

(Penryn & The End of Days #2)

In this sequel to the bestselling fantasy thriller, Angelfall, the survivors of the angel apocalypse begin to scrape back together what’s left of the modern world.

When a group of people capture Penryn’s sister Paige, thinking she’s a monster, the situation ends in a massacre. Paige disappears. Humans are terrified. Mom is heartbroken.

Penryn drives through the streets of San Francisco looking for Paige. Why are the streets so empty? Where is everybody? Her search leads her into the heart of the angels’ secret plans where she catches a glimpse of their motivations, and learns the horrifying extent to which the angels are willing to go.

Meanwhile, Raffe hunts for his wings. Without them, he can’t rejoin the angels, can’t take his rightful place as one of their leaders. When faced with recapturing his wings or helping Penryn survive, which will he choose?

Book 1: Angelfall review

x-x-x

Was that you, Pooky Bear?

I just let Susan Ee lead me, to wherever she wanted me to go with her story. I was a puppy on a leash, eager and excited and happy that my master is taking me to some awesome place. And how awesome it really was!

True, I have my expectations, but I trust Susan Ee to give me something that I do not know that I want, and she more than delivered. She excelled in providing one of the most fascinating sequels I read this year. Thumbs up!

I gotta admire Penryn. With a crazy mother and a misunderstood sister in a post-apocalyptic world, it was difficult to keep them safe from nasty angels, judgmental humans, and even from themselves. Penryn held it together, especially when her mom is in one of her moods. Their relationship is one interesting element of this series that I really like, and as eerie as it was, I can’t help but feel for Penryn and her mom. So much hardship!

While the absence of Raffe was a bit of a sore thumb during the first half, Pooky Bear more than satisfied my cravings for the archangel. I mean, she’s sentient, and the weird bond she has with Penryn was very entertaining. 🙂 The flashbacks was more than what I wished for, and I was oh, so satisfied!

The thing I love about Susan Ee‘s writing was that as much as I want Raffe to be this dashing hero of Penryn, he was still this arrogant, impassive, and darkly humored archangel I came to know from Angelfall. But a little swoon here and there, and oh my. *blushes* Peanut butter, anyone? Eek!

Paige was the surprise. I thought the Stockholm Syndrome will push through, and I was afraid of that. Good thing Susan Ee got a taste for blood, gore, and violence. *fist pump*

Well, I did notice one itsy bitsy inconsistency during the last Raffe-Beliel meeting, so anyone who knows what I am talking about, talk to me please.

World After. It might not be what I had in mind, but glory, what I got was such an amazing, bloody sight.

x-x-x

WORLD AFTER by Susan Ee

Paperback, 315 pages

Published November 19th 2013 by Skyscape

5/5 stars

4 thoughts on “Book Review: World After by Susan Ee

  1. Pingback: Elated: Best Reads of 2013 | reading is the ultimate aphrodisiac.

  2. Pingback: Required Reading: January | reading is the ultimate aphrodisiac.

Hello! Lemme know what you think :)

