Book Review: Ashen Winter by Mike Mullin

ashenwinterStarStarStarStar

Young Adult > Post-Apocalyptic > Dystopia

(Ashfall #2)

It’s been over six months since the eruption of the Yellowstone supervolcano. Alex and Darla have been staying with Alex’s relatives, trying to cope with the new reality of the primitive world so vividly portrayed in Ashfall, the first book in this series. It’s also been six months of waiting for Alex’s parents to return from Iowa. Alex and Darla decide they can wait no longer and must retrace their journey into Iowa to find and bring back Alex’s parents to the tenuous safety of Illinois. But the landscape they cross is even more perilous than before, with life-and-death battles for food and power between the remaining communities. When the unthinkable happens, Alex must find new reserves of strength and determination to survive.

Book 1: Ashfall review

x-x-x

You want true and gritty post-apocalyptic? Pick this up.

Freakin’ Mike Mullin got be depressed, hopeless, and downright in despair. *sulks in a corner*

So this is what it felt like: dreading the chapters because every ending of each chapter got me wincing, palpitating, and yup, closing Illium the Kindle (because I cannot bear if Alex dies, or Darla); wishing that I don’t want to get transported to Alex’s post-apocalyptic world (because I don’t think I can survive it); and expecting the worst can happen to Alex’s loved ones (because really, no one is spared during times like this).

It’s time to pray for our survival.

I’ll have you know, that two weeks I was reading Ashen Winter? I was in a current state of sadness (I was so distressed!). That’s how nerve-wracking the story was. I was chanting a mantra just like Alex, please let it end, please let it end.

The scheme of things is even worse than Ashfall. It did not help that Alex is too willful, to the point of being stubborn (to look for his parents). Darla said this is not a good idea. Another scene played: Alex wanted to help someone, Darla said let’s not get ourselves killed. So I’m thinking: Alex just isn’t good in listening?

When Alex realized the consequence of his action, things went from worse to hell-if-i-still-want-to-live-longer-after-this worst. Even I don’t want to get caught up in Alex’s skirmish with the cannibals. *shudders*

The ending was.. hard to take. I thought my heart was already in pieces when I started this book. When I get to the end, it was breaking all over again. How is that possible? *sob*

Mike Mullin can truly write a terrifying story! Ashen Winter was believable. and scary. and incredible.

Thank you Netgalley and Tanglewood Press for granting my galley request.

x-x-x

ASHEN WINTER by Mike Mullin

October 16th 2012 by Tanglewood Press

4.5/5 stars

One thought on “Book Review: Ashen Winter by Mike Mullin

  1. Pingback: Elated: Best Reads of 2013 | reading is the ultimate aphrodisiac.

Hello! Lemme know what you think :)

