Book Review: Allegiant by Veronica Roth

allegiantStar

Young Adult > Dystopia

(Divergent #3)

The faction-based society that Tris Prior once believed in is shattered—fractured by violence and power struggles and scarred by loss and betrayal. So when offered a chance to explore the world past the limits she’s known, Tris is ready. Perhaps beyond the fence, she and Tobias will find a simple new life together, free from complicated lies, tangled loyalties, and painful memories.

But Tris’s new reality is even more alarming than the one she left behind. Old discoveries are quickly rendered meaningless. Explosive new truths change the hearts of those she loves. And once again, Tris must battle to comprehend the complexities of human nature—and of herself—while facing impossible choices about courage, allegiance, sacrifice, and love.

Book 1: Divergent review       Book 2: Insurgent review

x-x-x

*slams my brand new copy of Allegiant on the floor*

Pointless. So utterly pointless.
(and I will not contain my grief.)

Here I thought Delirium series has a disgruntling ending. Congratulations to Divergent series for having the most illogical, senseless, and f*cked up ending to date.

*throws knives instead of confetti*

When Harry Potter and the Half-Blood Prince ended, I was choking with tears. When The Reapers Are the Angels ended, I was ten times inconsolable. At least the grief for these two books was warranted. The deaths were not necessary, but it somehow embodied that the loss of life will contribute more on the lives of the people they left behind.

That was so not the case for Allegiant. My buckets of tears were from anger, disbelief and outright dubiousness of a death that was obviously contrived just so this sacrifice can be as tangible as it gets for the readers.

Well, f*ck sacrifice. F*ck selflessness.

Are these two traits only measurable by death?
Heroism only identified when life is offered willingly?

I don’t think so!

I did not mind that the plot is ridden with holes, or the story is outlandishly veering off from the dystopian theme (and straight to a sci-fi one), or characters did not leave the same hard imprint that the story implied (Who is Edward again? Or Tori? I cannot even remember George Wu!). I no longer cared as much about these elements, so long as Tris and Four get the fruits of their triumphs, whatever they maybe.

But I was denied that. Fully, truly denied of that.

Without it, I asked myself: “WTF am I reading this for?!!!”

It’s been two days since I finished Allegiant, and I think it would take more days for my anger to subside. The madness brought about by its ending is nowhere near dissipating.

I remembered I hated that time when GRRM killed a main character after building him so succinctly in A Game of Thrones. I finished three books already in ASoIaF series, and I still question that death. I still question, and yet I understand more now of why it is necessary.

Veronica Roth killing one of her characters in Allegiant is a far cry from that. Not even a whimper.

The term Allegiant was just a décor. Because when Tris and her friends went outside for the first time, there is a new uprising waiting for them that they can join. But now, it is between genetically pure (GPs) or genetically damaged (GDs). The conflict between the factions and factionless is still spiking, but Roth has to introduce another set of conflict for Tris. Gah, it never ends.

So when the war between the factions and factionless reached its peak, the people watching from the outside (Department of Genetic Welfare) decided to act. But it was an abominable plan to Tris. But wait… in order to prevent them, Tris thought to do that same horrific deed (she abhorred) to the originators of the plan. What?! How’s that for a solution?!! The morality that Tris was asking for was so two-faced, even Four called her on that. But Tris told him, “let’s choose the lesser evil.” And Four reluctantly agreed. WTF.

Looking back, I realized that Four’s POV being present in Allegiant was a letdown. I did not see the Dauntless legend, the stern and disciplined Dauntless instructor who can whip his initiates into submission. Peter even manhandled him for a while in this finale! Four was insecure, unstable, and still reeling from hurt because he cannot have the love from either of his parents. *sigh* It was sad, really. But I love you, Four. Always have, always will.

Tris is stronger, wiser, and better equipped to deal with issues than Four. Her character was still developing, progressing into this heroine worthy from a dystopian world. The stupid twist in her fate was incomprehensible, incorrigible, un-f*cking-believable in the truest sense of these words.

The buildup of the story poorly supported the necessity of death of one of the characters. Not to mention that this character declared in this book, that s/he truly valued her life now, s/he very much wanted to live! So WTF is he/she doing sacrificing his/her life?!?!
Where is the f*cking sense in that, please tell me.

One choice death to define you – puh-lease. Divergent is not as good as The Hunger Games. Allegiant failed where Mockingjay succeeded. Success in a series finale is not always linked to a death, to any death for that matter. So I wish the comparison between these two dystopian series will stop.

Forget the Epilogue. Why write one when you already killed…?!!!!!

x-x-x

ALLEGIANT by Veronica Roth

Paperback, 526 pages

Published October 22nd 2013 by Katherine Tegen books

1/5 stars

7 thoughts on “Book Review: Allegiant by Veronica Roth

  1. I may not agree with you about the death, I felt like it was foreshadowed since Insurgent, but your review was incredibly entertaining.

    Even though I don’t have a problem with the death, I don’t think it made sense since David would never shoot to kill. Even if Tris annoyed him and was doing something stupid, she still has the best DNA and he’d want to study that. Tris dying made sense to me, but Tris being killed in that manner didn’t.

    • glad you were entertained, even if we are on different sides. My ranting might not show it, but I am a Divergent fan. That’s why maybe it hurts me so.

      thanks for stopping by 🙂

  2. Pingback: Allegiant (Spoiler Free Review) | Chrissi Reads

  3. Pingback: Elated: Best Reads of 2013 | reading is the ultimate aphrodisiac.

Hello! Lemme know what you think :)

