Book Review: Crown of Midnight by Sarah J. Maas

crownofmidnightStarStarStarStar

Young Adult > Fantasy > Paranormal

(Throne of Glass #2)

An assassin’s loyalties are always in doubt.
But her heart never wavers.

After a year of hard labor in the Salt Mines of Endovier, eighteen-year-old assassin Celaena Sardothien has won the king’s contest to become the new royal assassin. Yet Celaena is far from loyal to the crown – a secret she hides from even her most intimate confidantes.

Keeping up the deadly charade—while pretending to do the king’s bidding—will test her in frightening new ways, especially when she’s given a task that could jeopardize everything she’s come to care for. And there are far more dangerous forces gathering on the horizon — forces that threaten to destroy her entire world, and will surely force Celaena to make a choice.

Where do the assassin’s loyalties lie, and who is she most willing to fight for?

Book 1: Throne of Glass review

x-x-x

How long have you been yearning for him?

I recommend Crown of Midnight.
I’m a wreck, and I boldly blame Sarah J. Maas. *sniffs*
You have to know:

1st half – I was in a constant state of swoon 2nd half – I went through the five stages of grief (and no don’t ask me to enumerate it) and was so, so angry with Celaena.

You ingrate!

Celaena is more intense, more determined to seek her freedom. By doing so, she dodged her past again and again until she could not outrun it anymore. Until she could deny it no longer. I love Celaena from Throne of Glass, and all through the first half of Crown of Midnight. After that? I want to slice off her head and just be done with Adarlan’s assassin.

How poorly she treated Chaol…! I could not f*cking believe it. He is her friend, correct? So what is with the jumping of conclusions?!! Blaming the Captain for that death, after he was subjected to a horrific ordeal?!! Extremely mourning as if her lover died?!!! *shouting* He saved your life more than once, you idiot! Whatever happened to asking him about his side of the story, huh? Gah, Celaena’s character dwindled to a f*cking imbecile level.

Dorian – how I admire this prince. Every action and thought, it was done well, and done right, and at the right time. He matured, and in this sense that Dorian proved he is more than a puppet heir to the throne. And what an interesting twist he had in this sequel! I am thoroughly intrigued.

She deserved a loyal, brave knight who saw her for what she was and did not fear her. And he deserved someone that would look at him like that, even if the love wouldn’t be the same, even if the girl wouldn’t be her.

Chaol Westfall is the man. *whispers* I am so in love with you, Captain. Ahem. I wished it was different, how his story turned out, because my heart broke a thousand times as I devoured the second half of the book. Broke, broke my heart. =( The only consolation is that, his valiant character was repeatedly revealed. Now I know that I truly made the right choice in picking him for Celaena. Team Chaol FTW! (More POVs of him, please.)

As if being high fantasy is not enough, the different race where magic came from was further developed. I think it was too much, throwing that element in, but I did enjoy this sequel so…

There had never been any line between them, only his own stupid fear and pride. Because from the moment he’d pulled her out of that mine in Endovier and she had set those eyes upon him, still fierce despite a year in hell, he’d been walking toward this, walking to her.

Crown of Midnight frustrated me in the end. The high I experienced in the first half was too good to be true.. and it was.

Thank you NetGalley and Bloomsbury Publish Plc (UK & ANZ) for granting my galley request.

x-x-x

CROWN OF MIDNIGHT by Sarah J. Maas

Kindle Edition, 432 pages

Published  August 15 2013 by Bloomsbury

4/5 stars

One thought on “Book Review: Crown of Midnight by Sarah J. Maas

  1. Pingback: Elated: Best Reads of 2013 | reading is the ultimate aphrodisiac.

Hello! Lemme know what you think :)

