Book Review: Angus, Thongs and Full-Frontal Snogging by Louise Rennison

angusthongsStarStarStarStar

Young Adult > Contemporary > Humor

(Confessions of Georgia Nicolson #1)

There are six things very wrong with my life:

1. I have one of those under-the-skin spots that will never come to a head but lurk in a red way for the next two years.

2. It is on my nose

3. I have a three-year-old sister who may have peed somewhere in my room.

4. In fourteen days the summer hols will be over and then it will be back to Stalag 14 and Oberfuhrer Frau Simpson and her bunch of sadistic teachers.

5. I am very ugly and need to go into an ugly home.

6. I went to a party dressed as a stuffed olive.

Literary Awards: Printz Honor (2001), Abraham Lincoln Award Nominee (2005)

x-x-x

Fact: The book is funnier than the movie. The movie is more romantic than the book.

Either way, Angus, Thongs and Full-Frontal Snogging is guaranteed 100% entertainment for those who can bravely walk down memory lane and stare your own awkward adolescent stage in the face. 🙂

I could not remember a funnier girl than Georgia.. ooh, wait. I remember the girl from Deadly Cool. Anyway, Georgia is one scheming, manipulative, little.. princess. Ha! She’s fifteen, and she wants everything. When he spotted the hottest guy in school, Robbie, she thought it was meant to be. Eyes twinkling, gears in her mind turning – Georgia formulates the craziest ways to snag the guy. What usually follows is a series of (mostly no) hits and misses that has Georgia ending up like a drug-induced maniac. 😀

Man, Georgia got me laughing, and some more. Those moments you don’t want to get caught in, when you want a guy to notice you (for the right reason)? Georgia is almost always in it! Sometimes I pity the girl, as she get embarrassing more often than not. But I like that she goes for what she wants, no matter how crazy her ideas are. Attagirl!

She can be mean as well, maybe self-centered too. But I understand how prone she is to those, for her age. Kinda like a rite of passage to adulthood, yes?

The only thing that irked me is her treatment of her parents. Georgia was such a brat in some scenes, to the point of being rude.

Angus, Thongs and Full-Frontal Snogging is a quirky and enjoyable read. I wasn’t giving this book much thought when I browse the Printz Awards list. But I was grateful to have found a secondhand copy of it, so I had the chance to laugh at Georgia (sorry, it cannot be helped!). =P

x-x-x

ANGUS, THONGS, AND FULL-FRONTAL SNOGGING by Louise Rennison

Paperback, 247 pages

Published April 11th 2006 by HarperTeen
4/5 stars

One thought on “Book Review: Angus, Thongs and Full-Frontal Snogging by Louise Rennison

Hello! Lemme know what you think :)

