Book Review + Author Guest Post: True by Erin McCarthy

My blog is Erin McCarthy‘s TRUE Blog Tour stop this May 29th! Read on for my review, and see for yourself if you would like to pick it up soon. 😀

trueStarStarStarStar

New Adult > Contemporary

When Rory Macintosh’s roommates find out that their studious and shy friend has never been with a guy, they decide that, as an act of kindness they’ll help her lose her virginity by hiring confident, tattooed bad boy Tyler Mann to do the job…unbeknownst to Rory.

Tyler knows he’s not good enough for Rory. She’s smart, doctor smart, while he’s barely scraping by at his EMT program, hoping to pull his younger brothers out of the hell their druggy mother has left them in. But he can’t resist taking up her roommates on an opportunity to get to know her better. There’s something about her honesty that keeps him coming back when he knows he shouldn’t…

Torn between common sense and desire, the two find themselves caught up in a passionate relationship. But when Tyler’s broken family threatens to destroy his future, and hers, Rory will need to decide whether to cut her ties to his risky world or follow her heart, no matter what the cost…

(An ebook copy was sent to me by the publicist in exchange for an honest review.)

x-x-x

…so the story is a 3, but the unexpected strength from Rory earned an extra star.

This was a quick read. While True is not a New Adult book favorite of mine, it did take away some of my time without my noticing it. And I think that’s a pretty good sign that I was into a book somehow. Right?

The plot was simple. Rory cannot believe a hot guy like Tyler will like a plain-looking girl like her. So when he started to show her that’s he’s interested, Rory was suspicious. He has to have some agenda… And I’m so glad she’s not as naive to guys even if she has not dated anyone.

I liked that Tyler was not a jerk to Rory (prior to liking her), and he’s not intimidated because she’s smart. In fact, it’s a turn-on for him. And behind the tattoos was really a normal guy trying to get by until he can have a decent job so he can take care of his brothers.

Like a said, it was typical romance. But Rory’s character was stronger in the end. She says what’s in her mind; she’s not afraid to show that she’s intelligent. She goes straight to the point; she does not stay silent when she wants to know something (especially from Tyler). Most of all, I really liked that even if she loved the guy, she left the choice for him. She let him decide if he wants to stay with her. Because it won’t work if Tyler did not want to have that relationship with her himself. Her attitude was refreshing, really. Here’s a girl who faced the reality of their circumstances.

True gave me a heroine worth reading. And that’s enjoyable enough for me.

Thank you Erin Galloway of Penguin USA for my ebook copy.

x-x-x

TRUE by Erin McCarthy

Ebook, 222 pages

Published May 7th 2013 by Penguin Group (USA)

4/5 stars

x-x-x

Erin McCarthy, author of the New Adult novel True, interviews her hero, Tyler.  She gets him to dish a bit on his heroine, Rory!

 .

What is one word you would use to describe Rory?

Intelligent.  She’s so smart it’s amazing that she can still be so sweet.

What is your best quality?

I’m optimistic.  I never give up hope that everything will work out and that I’ll be able to give my brothers a life that doesn’t suck.

What is Rory’s best physical feature?

Dude, her hair.  It’s a color that you could never match with hair dye—layers of gold on top of red, and I’ve never felt anything so soft.  But the truth is, everything about Rory is awesome.

How many tattoos do you have?

Four.  For now.  TRUE on my bicep, a dragon on my calf, an infinity symbol on my wrist (okay, it’s actually the batman symbol) and a cross on my back between my shoulders.  Don’t tell Rory, but I’m thinking of getting her initials on my other wrist.

 

Erin McCarthy

Erin McCarthy is the New York Times and USA Today bestselling author of more than 40 novels and novellas in the paranormal, contemporary romance, and young adult genres.  The author is a RITA award finalist and an American Library Association winner of the Reluctant Young Reader award.  She lives with her family in Ohio.

Website: www.erinmccarthy.net/

Twitter: www.twitter.com/authorerin

Facebook: www.facebook.com/erinmccarthybooks

Goodreads: http://www.goodreads.com/author/show/7941.Erin_McCarthy

Thank you very much, Erin G. and Erin McC.!

I was really happy to meet Rory, and yes, Tyler, too. *giggles*

3 thoughts on “Book Review + Author Guest Post: True by Erin McCarthy

Hello! Lemme know what you think :)

