Book Review: Lover Enshrined by J.R. Ward

loverenshrinedStarStarStar

Genre: General Fiction > Adult Paranormal Romance

(Black Dagger Brotherhood #6)

Fiercely loyal to the Black Dagger Brotherhood, Phury has sacrificed himself for the good of the race, becoming the male responsible for keeping the Brotherhood’s bloodlines alive. As Primale of the Chosen, he is obligated to father the sons and daughters who will ensure that the traditions of the race survive, and that there are warriors to fight those who want all vampires extinguished.

As his first mate, the Chosen Cormia wants to win not only his body, but his heart for herself. She is drawn to the noble responsibility behind the emotionally scarred male. But Phury has never allowed himself to know pleasure or joy. As the war with the Lessening Society grows grim, tragedy looms over the Brotherhood’s mansion, and Phury must decide between duty and love….

Book 1: Dark Lover review     Book 2: Lover Eternal review     Book 3: Lover Awakened review       Book 4: Lover Revealed review       Book 5: Lover Unbound review

x-x-x

…So six books in, and I’m still for Zhadist. Woot! Oh, there’s Qhuinn. and Blay, too. *hot*

Lover Enshrined showed Z’s brother, Phury, as a whiner. He is mister hey-look-at-me-i’m-helping-everyone-but-myself drug addict. Phury’s attitude was a disservice to what the Brotherhood was all about. Where is the strength, man?

Zhadist‘s scenes were more enticing to read than Phury’s. It surprises me that Z’s character is consistent to that of Lover Awakened. No matter how brief his appearances in this installment, he outshined Phury by a freaking mile. Although I did love the bromance between the two. It was full of loss, pain, the need for redemption and forgiveness.

I liked Cormia better than Phury. Trained to serve the vampire race and the Scribed Virgin, to think of oneself was a sacrilege for the Chosen Females like Cormia. And yet, she slowly began to accept that being different from her sisters might be the key to her happiness. Her character was slow building, but it was just right to temper Phury’s grumpiness.

So did love triumphed over duty? The importance and difference between the two were naturally resolved but for Phury, it was snail-paced. Crap, I resent him. He’s not fit as a Brother anymore!

If not for Qhuinn‘s POV snippets, Lover Enshrined would be a total flop for me. I was excited to start the next book, Lover Avenged, so see more of Q! But then again, I paused. Rehvenge is the lead here, and I’m not that into him. Not yet.

In the meantime, I want more Qhuinn!!!

#19 Off-the-Shelf Challenge 2013

x-x-x

LOVER ENSHRINED by J.R. Ward

Paperback, 534 pages

Published June 3rd 2008 by Signet

3/5 stars

6 thoughts on “Book Review: Lover Enshrined by J.R. Ward

  1. I forgot about whiny Phury!! lol Again, I agree with your assessment. Your reviews have gotten me buzzing about the BDB again! Qhuinn is definitely my favorite and those little snippets will just keep coming and coming. I think you’ll enjoy Rehvenge’s story. I remember I was hesitant at first. He isn’t even a brother! However, throughout his story I really grew to love him.

    • Hey hey! I know the feeling, whenever I am in BDB reading mood, it got me buzzing too 🙂 Yay for Qhuinn! I really hope I will like Rehv soon. thanks!

  2. Pingback: Book Review: Lover Avenged by J.R. Ward | reading is the ultimate aphrodisiac.

  3. Pingback: Book Review: Lover Mine by J.R. Ward | reading is the ultimate aphrodisiac.

  4. Pingback: Book Review: Lover Unleashed by J.R. Ward | reading is the ultimate aphrodisiac.

  5. Pingback: Book Review: Lover Reborn by J.R. Ward | reading is the ultimate aphrodisiac.

Hello! Lemme know what you think :)

