Book Review: Delirium #3: Requiem by Lauren Oliver

requiemStarStar

Young Adult > Dystopia

(Delirium #3)

As her country erupts in open rebellion, Lena fights for the resistance and must make a heartbreaking choice between two loves.

After saving Julian from a death sentence, Lena escapes with him and other members of the resistance. But as she embraces her love for Julian, a boy from her past returns and causes her to question everything.

In the meantime, Lena’s best friend, Hana, is engaged to Portland’s young mayor and is living a safe, proscribed, loveless life. The story is told from both Lena and Hana’s points of view.

As Lena struggles to save the people she loves, everything comes to a head in this exciting finale to Lauren Oliver’s epic trilogy.

Book 1: Delirium review       Book 2: Pandemonium review

x-x-x

Simply put, Requiem is one of the most lacking and disgruntling finales to date.

The dystopian element of this series (ever since Delirium) was inferior enough compared to other dystopian trilogies out there. So when the love triangle element went downhill and eventually became an utter letdown, there was nothing that can save Requiem from this reader’s chagrin. Not even  Lauren Oliver‘s intense and captivating writing.

As Lena‘s little Resistance group tried to survive in the Wilds, there were news that Regulators and Scavengers are infiltrating what was left of it. Add to that Lena’s drama over Alex and Julian… the pace of story became somewhat disengaging. Truly, what could a band of misfit teenagers do to make a dent on Deliria-Free America? And how come Lena’s constant fawning over Julian still gives her a right to miss and get jealous over Alex? What? Gah.

As for Hana, her POV was mildly absorbing. But her defiance despite being cured is what I liked about her. Her cured life that was supposed to quietly manage her existence only succeeded in questioning the emotions she recalled when she sees things that reminded her of Lena.

Lena and her friends were looking for the nearest Resistance group they can find, then try to instill as much damage as they can; Hana was looking for redemption for some guilt that she cannot fathom why she even had it. That’s the gist of Requiem.

It bored me really. Then it frustrated me until the bitter end. The love story that I thrived on before was the only thing I hope for. The only thing that can salvage the inadequacy of Pandemonium. And it failed me big time. I still love you, Alex.

Requiem‘s made me irritated and displeased. It was not the finale that will make waves, that I can tell.

#20 Off-the-Shelf Challenge 2013

#9 Dystopia Challenge 2013

x-x-x

REQUIEM by Lauren Oliver

Paperback, 391 pages

Published March 5th 2013 by HarperCollins

2/5 stars

9 thoughts on “Book Review: Delirium #3: Requiem by Lauren Oliver

  1. Feel exactly the same way. And now I know why they say to wait a couple of days before you review a book because I was so swept up in emotion I gave it five stars then woke up three days later at 6am infuriated! I’ll rereview in a few months if I can stomach it but seriously how was that an ending? Ugh. Loved the book as the third in a series but it’s not an ending to a trilogy. Lena is my fave YA heroine and I just feel gypped that her story ends like that. ick

    • I totally agree with all your points. I gave myself some time before writing the review, bcoz I don’t want to rant erratically to a book that’s part of a series that I loved so much. But I did not see that kind of ending. ever. it was so abrupt, and greatly unsatisfying. And just when Lena was getting stronger in character!

      • Lauren Oliver gave this BS reason for that ending saying when she was a kid she loved to continue her favourite books and write stories with the characters and wanted us to have the same opportunity and I’m like…seriously? You wrote a crap ending so we could write fanfiction? REALLY?? I’m sick of love triangles but the lack of romance too annoyed me. The end where it was like “umm…so you like me right? okay…well I’m going to be over here tearing a wall down so catch up later?” Ugh no, just no!

      • No sh*t, Danielle?!!! Not all readers want to be writers, thank you very much. So that ending was just plain bad. And you got it peg on the “catch up later?” – so true. so lame. and it’s supposed to be a finale.

  2. This finale had SO much potential and I was let down. The first 3/4 of the novel were incredibly slow paced to me and then the last few chapters happened too fast and left me wanting more. I really enjoyed Hana’s POV and the reasoning behind Lena picking who she did but overall this book was just all over the place. Lately I feel that dystopians have a great first novel but then as the series progresses just falls off. arg.

    • I know, right! so much potential, because Pandemonium set a stage that left us to wonder that it will hold a mindblowing performance. Unfortunately, I was scammed. ha! The dystopian series just falling off as it progresses? darn straight.

  3. Pingback: Waiting on Wednesday [5] | reading is the ultimate aphrodisiac.

  4. Pingback: Elated: Best Reads of 2013 | reading is the ultimate aphrodisiac.

Hello! Lemme know what you think :)

