Book Review: The Alchemyst by Michael Scott

thealchemystStarStarStar

Young Adult > Fantasy

(The Secrets of the Immortal Nicholas Flamel #1)

He holds the secret that can end the world.

The truth: Nicholas Flamel was born in Paris on September 28, 1330. Nearly 700 years later, he is acknowledged as the greatest Alchemyst of his day. It is said that he discovered the secret of eternal life.

The records show that he died in 1418.

But his tomb is empty.

The legend: Nicholas Flamel lives. But only because he has been making the elixir of life for centuries. The secret of eternal life is hidden within the book he protects—the Book of Abraham the Mage. It’s the most powerful book that has ever existed. In the wrong hands, it will destroy the world. That’s exactly what Dr. John Dee plans to do when he steals it. Humankind won’t know what’s happening until it’s too late. And if the prophecy is right, Sophie and Josh Newman are the only ones with the power to save the world as we know it.

Sometimes legends are true.

And Sophie and Josh Newman are about to find themselves in the middle of the greatest legend of all time.

Literary Awards: Rebecca Caudill Young Reader’s Book Award Nominee (2011), Iowa Teen Award Nominee (2011)

x-x-x

I googled Nicholas Flamel. So true. Because I am intrigued by fiction inspired by people that really existed in the past. And alchemy is something I craved reading way back in high school.

The Alchemyst was hard to get into. Really hard. The first half was boring. It only got interesting when Hecate came in. And that got the action ball rolling, so to speak.

The adventure was there; so were the villains. Its hard to hate Dr. Dee when you read his POV as well, correct? And Perenelle Flamel was very formidable!

As for the twins, Josh and Sophie, they were alright. I felt disconnected, somehow. It didn’t matter to me that they are about to be annihilated by the undead army… maybe I was just starting to have fun, on their expense. Ha!

My favorite scene was the Bast-Sophie-Perry face-off. Now, that was fun. 😀

I’m not sure if want to continue reading this series anytime soon. Or I can try the audiobook version. Yeah, I can try that. The Alchemyst and I might just have started on the wrong foot. I think the series will get better. Right? Because I like Scatty (and the Witch of Endor by association).

#17 Off the Shelf Reading Challenge 2013

x-x-x

THE ALCHEMYST by Michael Scott

Paperback, 375 pages

Published June 24th 2008 by Ember

3/5 stars

3 thoughts on “Book Review: The Alchemyst by Michael Scott

  1. I’m glad you had better luck with this one than I did…it was a DNF for me and I very rarely DNF. A lot of the elements were cool, and I was really intrigued by Nicholas Flamel but I just could not get into it either like you mentioned. And like you, I just did not connect to the two MC’s I’m happy to hear that it eventually picked up and I hope you have better luck with the rest of the series (if you decide to keep going!) Thanks for the great, honest review!!

    Old follower,
    Micheline @ Lunar Rainbows

    • thank goodness I was buddy reading this one. Else, I might have DNF it, too. 🙂 The latest book, The Enchantress, was a 2012 fave of one of my friends of mine (Louize), So yeah, I believe the series will pick up. 🙂 thank you Micheline, for your kinds words!

Hello! Lemme know what you think :)

