Book Review: Shatter Me #2: Unravel Me by Tahereh Mafi

unravelmeStarStarStar

Young Adult > Dystopia

(Shatter Me #2)

Juliette’s world is beginning to unravel.
Everything is falling apart changing.

Juliette has escaped to Omega Point-the headquarters of the rebel resistance. There she discovers other people with abilities. Abilities they have learned to control. And for the first time in her life, Juliette has hope. Hope that she can have a life with Adam. Hope that her touch can be used to save instead of destroy.

But Juliette is only just beginning to understand the depth of her power, and she’s struggling to fight the desire to use it. She’s still haunted by her past, terrified by her future, and too tempted by Warner, who still wants Juliette more than she ever thought possible.

In this exhilarating sequel to Shatter Me, Juliette has to make life-changing decisions between what she wants and what she thinks is right. Decisions that might involve choosing between her heart-and Adam’s life.

Book 1: Shatter Me review

x-x-x

Almost made me a convert.. to Team Warner. I prefer pyschotic guys. 😀

…as for Chapter 62? I’ve read hotter scenes than that. So imagine my disappointment when my wild anticipation was not met properly. *huffs*

Loneliness is a bitter, wretched companion. Sometimes it just won’t let go.

Shatter Me was alright. Didn’t get me that excited over Unravel Me. But after reading Destroy Me, I was psyched to see where this sequel will lead me.

So, my verdict: while Unravel Me was unputdownable and relentless with emotions, I still wasn’t satisfied with its ending. I’m thinking, while Tahereh Mafi can write eloquently, I’m not sure if she has the talent to wrap up stories as intensely as she started them..? I’m having problems on how she closes each installment. :/

But sometimes I think – sometimes I wonder – if I were a monster, surely, I would feel it by now?

I want to be clear that I only like Juliette when she went Dr. Jekyll and Mr. Hyde to someone who’s close to her at that time of her change. She was such a cold-hearted bad-*ss! Did you see how she manhandled Kenji? or how she blatantly damaged Warner’s father? It was awesome! But when Juliette went dramatic over Adam/Warner, forget it. I wanted to throttle her every time.

But I mean, why even a love affair? I never understood that kind of crap. If you’re not happy, just leave. Don’t cheat. Doesn’t take a genius to figure that shit out.

I get it, that Kenji will be the sidekick guy. But he did have his strong points. And every time he bombarded Juliette with the hard truths, I applauded him. I believe he’s the most consistent character in this series.

I know who I am. That’s enough for me.

I have to give Warner some credit. Because he’s really… immovable, self-willed, unbending. I heard whispers that Unravel Me was all about Warner. Halfway through the book, and Warner is still a no-show… but when he did… Oh golly, he rocked the chapters! His character was just that potent. He’s not a good guy, but his transformation from a cruel monster to a somewhat resembling a human being, it was worth watching out for. Man, Warner. *sigh*

That thing that bugged me the most about this sequel: the love triangle was distorted, I might even go as far as biased. I mean, I’m not even Team Warner (and not that a solid Team Adam, either), but I saw that Warner’s character was heavily favored than Adam’s. C’mon! Love triangles are okay, but for goodness’ sake let there be a fair fight among rivaly teams! Warner was unmistakably strong in character, but Adam was unbalanced, crumbling, left to deteriorate. =( It was sad, really. The unhealthy love triangle here took out the challenge in rooting for the right guy. And Juliette didn’t help, either.

Unravel Me is a bit better than Shatter Me. But only a bit. The ending more or less showed me who will be winning Juliette in book 3.

#16 Off-the-Shelf Challenge 2013

#8 Dystopia Challenge 2013

x-x-x

UNRAVEL ME by Tahereh Mafi

Paperback, 461 pages

Published February 5th 2013 by HarperCollins

3/5 stars

7 thoughts on “Book Review: Shatter Me #2: Unravel Me by Tahereh Mafi

  1. Pingback: Book Review: Shatter Me #2: Unravel Me by Tahereh Mafi | Bibliotropic.com

  2. Solid Team Warner here! 😀 He totally won me over in this book whereas I barely paid him any attention in Shatter Me, aside from thinking he’s an obsessed creep. And to think I have not read Destroy Me prior to reading this. I think what ultimately makes him stronger than Adam is his calm acceptance of who and what he really is. Adam on the other hand couldn’t and has too much emotional baggage to be really effective. Geez. Sorry for the spammy comment, I guess I have stronger reactions to this book and its characters than I initially thought. ^_^;

  3. Pingback: Book Review: Ignite Me by Tahereh Mafi | reading is the ultimate aphrodisiac.

Hello! Lemme know what you think :)

