Elated: Tahereh Mafi (and Ransom Riggs) in Manila!

(let the pictures tell my super fun experience on my 3rd book signing event!)

IMG_5954

Registration is at 3pm. I was there before 2pm. Early bird catches the worm, right?

see, registration is still empty. because i. am. early.

IMG_5956

my view from where i sat. pretty, pretty close!

IMG_5957

(from L-R) My good friends Janus of The Blair Book Project, and Celina of The Bookkeeper. and the third girl grinning like crazy? That’s me. *beams*

IMG_5958

Another good friend of mine, Kwesi of Sweet Reads, together with his classmate and her sister. Converts? πŸ˜›

IMG_5959

IMG_5960

Okay, so I’m not officially a fan of TM when I went here (Janus asked me if I want to come at the book signing event, she was the official fan), but when two YA authors are just a breath away from you, who wouldn’t go gaga?!!!

That’s Ransom Riggs and Tahereh Mafi. πŸ™‚

Ransom asked me and Celina how early we got there, and I said 2 hours before the event. He was like, “Really?” I was starstruck, because throughout the event, he was so, so cool.

I even asked him later that day:

M: So you’re name is really Ransom?

R: Yeah, my name is really Ransom.

M: Right. Just checking. Thank you!

Haha!

Rock on, Ransom!

IMG_5961 IMG_5962

TM was officially introduced to us, and what an awesome girl! She made me laugh every single time she opens her mouth. smart-ass. *winks*

And I love her dress, so summer!

IMG_5963

I was the first in line for the book signing, woot!

IMG_5964

That’s Kwesi, who’s No. 2 =)

IMG_5965

And Celina, No. 3!

.

.

.

I got no shot of Janus when her book was signed. Now why is that?… Right, she’s No. 109 >>> and we are all so hungry by that time! Thus, no picture on my camera. Hahaha!

You’d think I will get tired of going to this kind of events, but no. It was something for us, Filipinos!

Rarely do authors (much less YA authors!) come here in Manila. So just imagine us readers going googly-eyed when we finally caught sight of them. πŸ˜€

I don’t want to fangirl, because I only liked Shatter Me a little bit. But when I get to meet Tahereh, who is so warm and funny and awesome, I cannot help but… yeah, fangirl. Ha!

How cool is that!

10 thoughts on “Elated: Tahereh Mafi (and Ransom Riggs) in Manila!

  1. I saw TM talk about this signing, and I wondered if I knew anyone that went. And then I see this wonderful recap! Great pics of you and your friends with the authors. How fun! And Ransom is pretty cool isn’t he? I haven’t read Unravel Me yet, have you? Are you more excited to read it now?

    Thanks for sharing your experience! πŸ™‚

    • Yeah, Ransom is sooo cool. Funny guy! We rarely have book events here in Manila, so yeah, it’s fun once we have one. Haha!

      I’m currently reading Unravel Me. Nothing special yet, but I cannot stop reading. you know?

      Thanks, Lucy!

      • Not yet, but I have read so many good things about her books.
        And darn life for getting in the way of my book splurging.
        Plus, it’s been years since last I attended a book signing. The excitement, right?

      • i agree. The excitement is just… something. you know? Next time we hear of a book signing event, I’ll give you a heads up!

  2. Oh my gosh, you guys are mean! I’m sorry for starving you guys. How many times am I going to apologize for being late? Let it go, dude! Hahaha!

    Next time I’m coming an hour earlier than you… I think. *sticks tongue out*
    This was fun! Till next time! πŸ˜€

Hello! Lemme know what you think :)

