Book Review: Falling Kingdoms by Morgan Rhodes

fallingkingdomsStarStarStarStar

Young Adult > Fantasy

(Falling Kingdoms #1)

In a land where magic has been forgotten but peace has reigned for centuries, a deadly unrest is simmering. Three kingdoms grapple for power—brutally transforming their subjects’ lives in the process. Amidst betrayals, bargains, and battles, four young people find their fates forever intertwined:

Cleo: A princess raised in luxury must embark on a rough and treacherous journey into enemy territory in search of a magic long thought extinct.

Jonas: Enraged at injustice, a rebel lashes out against the forces of oppression that have kept his country impoverished—and finds himself the leader of a people’s revolution centuries in the making.

Lucia: A girl adopted at birth into a royal family discovers the truth about her past—and the supernatural legacy she is destined to wield.

Magnus: Bred for aggression and trained to conquer, a firstborn son begins to realize that the heart can be more lethal than the sword. . . .

The only outcome that’s certain is that kingdoms will fall. Who will emerge triumphant when all they know has collapsed.

x-x-x

…but I actually don’t know who to root for.

Hate is such a strong emotion. Much more powerful than indifference. But those who burn with hate can also love just as intensely. Can’t they? When you hate–or love–do you do so with all your heart? So much that it feels as if you might die from it?

Three kingdoms. Auranos, Paelsia, Limeros. Four POVs (at one time, five). Cleo, Jonas, Lucia and Magnus. It was hard to track everyone, to tell you the truth. Because just when I was getting comfortable with Magnus, the POV shifts to Lucia, or Cleo. Given that, I am not sure which of them I should give my support, so to speak. But Magnus is the most compelling among them. Intriguing, this prince was. =)

So maybe if you like A Game of Thrones, there is a possibility that Falling Kingdoms will appeal to you. The lack of regard to characters is a similarity. Why, you ask? See, the first character who was growing on me, while I’m still on the verge of attaching to him… he was murdered. After displaying himself as a formidable man to watch out for, he has to die suddenly. *grunts* I hate that author’s trick.

Suffice it to say that I clung to Magnus to give me hope on this rather boring lament of Cleo and maybe Jonas, too. I couldn’t care less what happened to them. So Magnus’ character… his tortured soul was such a joy to watch. I have no qualms if he’s good or bad. I just want Magnus to be this powerful, definitive, and convincing Blood Prince that everyone expects him to be. Bring it on, then. I’m sure Magnus will fit the role perfectly. *evil grin*

The few curveballs that made Falling Kingdoms a massive jolt to my system? I’m still deciding if I like them. I think I need to read Rebel Spring to say if this fantasy is worth investing my time and emotions to. I believe it can be better, so let’s hope that it will be.

x-x-x

FALLING KINGDOMS by Morgan Rhodes

Ebook, 400 pages

Published December 12th 2012 by Penguin Group

3/5 stars

Hello! Lemme know what you think :)

