Book Review: Shatter Me by Tahereh Mafi

shattermeStarStarStar

Young Adult > Dystopia

(Shatter Me #1)

Juliette hasn’t touched anyone in exactly 264 days.

The last time she did, it was an accident, but The Reestablishment locked her up for murder. No one knows why Juliette’s touch is fatal. As long as she doesn’t hurt anyone else, no one really cares. The world is too busy crumbling to pieces to pay attention to a 17-year-old girl. Diseases are destroying the population, food is hard to find, birds don’t fly anymore, and the clouds are the wrong color.

The Reestablishment said their way was the only way to fix things, so they threw Juliette in a cell. Now so many people are dead that the survivors are whispering war– and The Reestablishment has changed its mind. Maybe Juliette is more than a tortured soul stuffed into a poisonous body. Maybe she’s exactly what they need right now.

Juliette has to make a choice: Be a weapon. Or be a warrior.

x-x-x

…is there a Team Kenji? I’m crazy for this guy!

I’m not gaga about it, but Shatter Me was kinda fun, considering I’m in the mood for romance. My first problem is this: too metaphorical. I didn’t mind the strikethrough texts (I actually liked them), but the metaphors were darn distracting. My second problem: Juliette was repetitive. She was too disbelieving! Didn’t Adam just said why he’s doing what he did? And yet Juliet still had to ask the same freaking question 2-3 more times. Gah.

Adam was undeniably hot – a prime soldier, with tats (ahem). *beams* And he’s very kind, and I was like, aw, hell. Hot and kind, that’s a pretty dangerous combination. And yet I asked myself: Can I really believe that Adam was both? But I liked his quiet strength, his tempered emotions. It was invigorating.

This book was okay, but when Kenji appeared, oh my. He’s so irritatingly charming! I have these bursts of laughter when he’s goading Adam and hitting on Juliette. It’s just the right mix of fun, you know? I say, I’m team Kenji if there ever was one. Ha!

Shatter Me could be good. The ending was an irking reecho of a popular movie installment. And please lessen the metaphorical overfill. It shatters the bottle of emotions I could’ve enjoyed while reading. Pun intended.

#5 Dystopia Challenge 2013

x-x-x

SHATTER ME by Tahereh Mafi

Ebook, 248 pages

Published November 15th 2011 by HarperCollins

3.5/5 stars

6 thoughts on “Book Review: Shatter Me by Tahereh Mafi

  1. Pingback: Elated: Tahereh Mafi (and Ransom Riggs) in Manila! | reading is the ultimate aphrodisiac.

  2. Pingback: Splurged [28] / Stacking the Shelves [1] | reading is the ultimate aphrodisiac.

  3. Pingback: Book Review: Shatter Me #2: Unravel Me by Tahereh Mafi | reading is the ultimate aphrodisiac.

  4. Pingback: Book Review: Ignite Me by Tahereh Mafi | reading is the ultimate aphrodisiac.

Hello! Lemme know what you think :)

