Book Review: An Abundance of Katherines by John Green

anabundanceofkatherinesStarStarStar

Young Adult > Contemporary | Realistic Fiction

When it comes to relationships, Colin Singleton’s type is girls named Katherine. And when it comes to girls named Katherine, Colin is always getting dumped. Nineteen times, to be exact. On a road trip miles from home, this anagram-happy, washed-up child prodigy has ten thousand dollars in his pocket, a bloodthirsty feral hog on his trail, and an overweight, Judge Judy-loving best friend riding shotgun–but no Katherines. Colin is on a mission to prove The Theorem of Underlying Katherine Predictability, which he hopes will predict the future of any relationship, avenge Dumpees everywhere, and finally win him the girl. Love, friendship, and a dead Austro-Hungarian archduke add up to surprising and heart-changing conclusions in this ingeniously layered comic novel about reinventing oneself.

Literary Awards: Printz Honor (2007), Abraham Lincoln Award Nominee (2010)

x-x-x

…after 3 John Green books, Paper Towns is still my favorite.

The humor I found in An Abundance of Katherines is.. forced? corny? not really that funny? I keep pysching myself up that, this is it, I will laugh in this chapter already. maybe in the next one? No, but keep going.. 😦 Until I reached the final chapter and it just wasn’t that enjoyable per my JG standard.

I do like Colin‘s penchant for anagrams. I think I have the same pastime, but with car plates. 🙂 I also like when he remembered his past relationships with the Katherines. Sometimes it made me smile, other times it made me wistful. I want to hug Colin for the disasters in his lovelife! Not that drastic, but I know it was equally painful on his part. and I think his parents are awesome.

John Green wrote superbly as usual. For other authors, it would take them to have a dual POV in order for me to peek at the MC’s love interest’s thinking. In here, I don’t need Lindsey‘s POV to understand her side. I can picture her mind (and her heart) completely just by how she talked and connected to Colin.

Overall, An Abundance of Katherines is an average JG book for me. Minimal highlights compared to Paper Towns, even Looking for Alaska.

x-x-x

AN ABUNDANCE OF KATHERINES by John Green

Published August 14th 2008 by Speak

3/5 stars

2 thoughts on “Book Review: An Abundance of Katherines by John Green

  1. Great review! I haven’t enjoyed many of John Green’s books – actually, I’ve only liked The Fault in Our Stars – so I think I’ll pass on An Abundance of Katherines.

Hello! Lemme know what you think :)

