Book Review: Speechless by Hannah Harrington

speechlessStarStarStarStar

Young Adult > Contemporary | Realistic Fiction

Everyone knows that Chelsea Knot can’t keep a secret

Until now. Because the last secret she shared turned her into a social outcast—and nearly got someone killed.

Now Chelsea has taken a vow of silence—to learn to keep her mouth shut, and to stop hurting anyone else. And if she thinks keeping secrets is hard, not speaking up when she’s ignored, ridiculed and even attacked is worse.

But there’s strength in silence, and in the new friends who are, shockingly, coming her way—people she never noticed before; a boy she might even fall for. If only her new friends can forgive what she’s done. If only she can forgive herself.

x-x-x

…took me a while to get reacquainted with Harrington’s writing. But it’s worth it! While Saving June is still my favorite, Speechless still managed to render me smiling and happy by the time I finished it. =)

I was delighted with Chelsea‘s hot and cold persona. She can be a witch sometimes, but she can be human, too. She can be cowering from shame and despair with the bullying, but she can be a total awestruck ditz when she sees Brendon..! It was funny to me, I don’t know why. At least shes’ not that depressing even if Chelsea thinks that her life is so over.

I rarely like nice guys. But I have one from Geek Girl, and that’s Trevor. He’s such a sweetie! and now I have another one in here… Sam. =) He skateboards, he cooks, and he’s… good good. You know? He’s Noah‘s best friend and I was expecting he will be this very, very angry kid towards Chelsea. Well, he’s not overjoyed, but he’s not hostile to her, either. It raised my eyebrows a little, but it was nice. 🙂

But my favorite character is definitely Andy. Cute, chain-smoking, angsty, angry, gay Andy! *beams* He’s not the MC, but I felt that he’s role is so big, and perfectly tuned to the theme of the story.

Speechless did not display Harrington’s remarkable writing as compared to Saving June. But the depth of emotions and the strong chemistry between characters is still amazing as ever. I may start reading Harrington’s work with the blues, but I always finished it with the warm fuzzies. *grins excitedly*

One more thing: Kristen should meet Lindsay of Before I Fall. I’d like a showdown of these mean girls. Oh yeah.

Thank you Netgalley and Harlequin for granting my galley request.

x-x-x

SPEECHLESS by Hannah Harrington

Published August 28th 2012 by Harlequin Teen

4/5 stars

2 thoughts on “Book Review: Speechless by Hannah Harrington

  1. I’ve read so many wonderful things about Speechless, I really need to check it out! Even though I’ve read many reviews of it I’d never heard of Saving June, so I’ll add that one to my to-read list too. Great review – I loved Before I Fall, so now that you mentioned it, it makes me even more curious about Speechless…

Hello! Lemme know what you think :)

