Book Review: Fahrenheit 451 by Ray Bradbury

fahrenhiet451StarStarStarStar

Classics > Science Fiction > Dystopia

Guy Montag was a fireman whose job it was to start fires, and he enjoyed his job. He had been a fireman for ten years, and he had never questioned the pleasure of the midnight runs nor the joy of watching pages consumed by flames … never questioned anything until he met a seventeen-year-old girl who told him of a past when people were not afraid.

Then he met a professor who told him of a future in which people could think. And Guy Montag suddenly realized what he had to do …

x-x-x

Impossible; for how many people did you know who refracted your own light to you?

I picked up Fahrenheit 451 with apprehension. Somehow, I’m dreading that the same crappy ending in 1984 will happen here… but I’m a happy camper! I liked Bradbury’s short story since page 1. Liked it even more as it progresses. I thought, “yeah! that’s what I want to happen, too”!

I was in a trance while reading the book. Bradbury’s broody and flowery writing appealed to me for his dystopian theme. It made me pause, think, and agree. In the end of Part 1, I thought Guy was a hypocrite, but my sour feeling towards him didn’t last.

For such a short read, Fahrenheit 451 was packed with a lot of punch. Never mind that I fear the world they are in, without books?!! But the spot-on, not-so-impossible future crated by Bradbury was quite impressive. Well, he did write this fifty years ago! He has some inventive imagination going back then, and I applaud him for that.

The war was sketchy to me. It conflicted with the message being repeated by the Captain on why their Society is such in its current state: it’s because people want to be “happy”. So the Society gave them happiness. So what’s with the war?

Fahrenheit 451 didn’t disappoint. Finally! A classic that is right for my taste. =)

Goodreads – The Filipino Group Book of the Month (January)

#3 Off the Shelf Reading Challenge 2013

x-x-x

FAHRENHEIT 451 by Ray Bradbury

Paperback, 50th Anniversary Edition, 190 pages

Published 1991 by Ballantine Books

4/5 stars

3 thoughts on “Book Review: Fahrenheit 451 by Ray Bradbury

  1. Pingback: TFG’s Book of the Month for January: Fahrenheit 451 by Ray Bradbury | Book Rhapsody

  2. Pingback: Required Reading: February « reading is the ultimate aphrodisiac.

  3. Pingback: Elated: Best Reads of 2013 | reading is the ultimate aphrodisiac.

Hello! Lemme know what you think :)

