Book Review: Fury by Shirley Marr

StarStarStar

Young Adult > Mystery

Let me tell you my story.
Not just the facts I know you want to hear.
If I’m going to tell you my story,
I’m telling it my way.

Strap yourself in…

Eliza Boans has everything.
A big house.
A great education.
A bright future.

So why is she sitting in a police station confessing to murder?

x-x-x

…Slow-moving but I was kind of surprised about the second body. That sucked.

Fury was not as compelling as I’d hope it would be, but I have to say that when I started reading the first few chapters, I had high hopes. Marr’s dark writing just sucked me in until I reached the last page. However, I didn’t think there was anything more the book could give me that was not in its blurb. Mildly disappointing, but I had fun reading it.

Eliza was not afraid to show that she’s a spoiled brat with a foul mouth. But that doesn’t mean she’s not smart, only not smart enough not to get caught for a murder. Ha! *ahem*

Eliza’s narrative began with her interrogation at the police station. While giving her (non)statements, she was recalling what really happened on that awful night. I liked how the story unfolded, but the buildup was so good for a not-so-twisted climax that I ended up.. looking for more, I guess. Just when I thought my breath was going to hitch, it was over. There was little surprise to shock me into silence.

and that one character I liked the most, died. Yeah, it deflated me a little. =(

For those looking for a HEA, Fury cannot give you that. But the exquisite writing and subtle mystery/suspense might interest you.

x-x-x

FURY by Shirley Marr

Ebook, 277 pages

Published May 1st 2010 by Black Dog Books

3/5 stars

Hello! Lemme know what you think :)

