Book Review: Pride and Prejudice by Jane Austen

PandPStarStarStar

Classics > Romance

When Elizabeth Bennet first meets eligible bachelor Fitzwilliam Darcy, she thinks him arrogant and conceited; he is indifferent to her good looks and lively mind. When she later discovers that Darcy has involved himself in the troubled relationship between his friend Bingley and her beloved sister Jane, she is determined to dislike him more than ever. In the sparkling comedy of manners that follows, Jane Austen shows the folly of judging by first impressions and superbly evokes the friendships, gossip and snobberies of provincial middle-class life.

x-x-x

..when i started reading:
Somehow, I find P&P more entertaining to read than Jane Eyre. 🙂 This might be an easy read for me!

..when i finished reading:
I TAKE IT BACK! I liked Jane Eyre better than P&P. What. A. Fallout.

I can’t help but compare. Because of my book club, I was obligated to read these two classics in 2011. I finished them both and I was disappointed. I thought Jane Eyre was overrated. After Pride and Prejudice, I thought P&P was more overrated than JE!

The first few chapters are entertaining. The middle part was just nonsense – those chapters about gossip and intrigue were so irritating. Where is the story of Ms. Bennett and Mr. Darcy?!! Gone! Gone, I tell you. And it only came back 3-4 chapters in the end. I was freakin’ shortchanged.

Elizabeth was so high-and-mighty, so I prefer her sister, Jane. I have no complaints about Mr. Darcy *ahem* only that.. whatever did he see in Elizabeth?

I did like Mr. Bennett, Elizabeth’s father, because he’s funny. And those moments between Elizabeth Bennett and Mr. Darcy were heartwarming albeit contained and elusive. And theirs is supposed to be the greatest romantic love story of all time..? Sorry, but I didn’t buy it, Jane Austen.

Jane Eyre has more substance and depth than Pride and Prejudice. The story was better executed in JE than in P&P.

x-x-x

PRIDE AND PREJUDICE by Jane Austen

Ebook, 333 pages

Published June 1st 1998 by Public Domain Books

2.5/5 stars

4 thoughts on “Book Review: Pride and Prejudice by Jane Austen

Hello! Lemme know what you think :)

