Book Review: Matched #3: Reached by Ally Condie

crossedStarStarStarStar

Young Adult > Dystopia

(Matched # 3)

After leaving Society and desperately searching for the Rising—and each other—Cassia and Ky have found what they were looking for, but at the cost of losing each other yet again: Cassia has been assigned to work for the Rising from within Society, while Ky has been stationed outside its borders. But nothing is as predicted, and all too soon the veil lifts and things shift once again.

In this gripping conclusion to the #1 New York Times-bestselling Matched trilogy, Cassia will reconcile the difficulties of challenging a life too confining, seeking a freedom she never dreamed possible, and honoring a love she cannot live without.

Book 1: Matched review     Book 2: Crossed review

x-x-x

…too long, I think. The exciting part? the last 100 pages only.
Still, thank you Ally Condie, for not letting me down. 🙂

She bends down to kiss him, and his trembling hand reaches for hers, but he can’t move it far enough yet. So I lift up his hand and put it on hers. I help him to reach her. For a moment, I’m a part of it all. Then I’m just apart.

I’ve been lenient with this series. Was I caught up with the flowery words of poetry? during a time where Society removes the right to choose? I can allow Crossed to be slow. But Reached? My goodness, I truly resisted the urge to chuck the book across the room (because it was a gift :P)! I’m more than halfway through and I am still at a loss. It was so frustrating. 512 pages is so difficult to finish.

There are four parts: The Pilot, The Poet, The Physic, The Plague. The Plague is the essential part of the book. I (almost) got what I came for, reading and finishing Matched series. I found out who put Ky’s name in the Matching pool. I realized Xander’s strength is far different from Ky’s. I now know that the Society and Rising are not so different from each other after all.

I liked Xander in Reached. I dismissed him in the earlier installments. I think he more than shined – he was brighter than Cassia (maybe even Ky). I am satisfied on how his story turned out. It was sweet.

I loved watching Cassia‘s and Ky‘s relationship through Xander’s eyes. Without a doubt, their love is deep, silent, yet all consuming. =) I am Team Ky until the end!

The science talk in here? Too much. I don’t even care about it. You’d think Condie was lecturing me about epidemics and pandemics in a classroom. Boring. Although the concept of the Society and the Rising made me think, and I liked that.

I love this series, but I’m pretty sure I’m not up for a reread. Maybe only bits and pieces from each book. Dare I say that I’m glad this series is wrapped up? Yes.

#1 Off-the-Shelf Challenge 2013

#1 Dystopia Challenge 2013

x-x-x

CROSSED by Ally Condie

Hardbound, 512 pages

Published November 13th 2012 by Dutton Childrens Books

4/5 stars

5 thoughts on “Book Review: Matched #3: Reached by Ally Condie

  1. I didn’t even read Crossed! I did not dare to,lol. I liked the concept and basic story of the series but Matched bored me, well, some parts though. But I’m glad you finished the series! Cngrats, i knew it took a lot of energy,hehe

  2. I was a bit bummed by Reached. I enjoyed it, but it was… well… dull. I’m not sure what I wanted but it was so much science and sickness and thinking and dull. I did like the ending and loved seeing more of Xander. I just feel super mixed up about this series though. I loved Matched. Like a lot. But Crossed and Reached just didn’t do it for me. Oh well! Great review!

  3. Pingback: Elated: Best Reads of 2013 | reading is the ultimate aphrodisiac.

Hello! Lemme know what you think :)

