Challenge: Dystopia Challenge, 2012 Wrap-Up & 2013 Sign-Up

dystopia2012

2012 Dystopia Challenge Completion

Compared to my 2011 list (of 23 books read), I managed to read 2 more books with dystopian or post-apocalyptic theme. Woot! I bet you already know which of them made it with a 5-star rating… (I hope so!) Then, I will just tell you which of them surprised the hell out of me. I might not love them that much (to earn a 5-star rating), but I assure you, they are worth the time I spent reading them. My taste might be different, but I am just as happy that I came across these titles.

the road

The Road by Cormac McCarthy – I was swept away by this.. with tears and despair. It played with my emotions, up and down! The Road was haunting. *goosebumps*

ashfall

Ashfall by Mike Mullin – this is good. the cover is not as enticing, but I tell you, there’s good (I mean, terrible) post-apocalyptic stuff here. =) It felt so real.

genesis

Genesis by Bernard Beckett – this one came highly recommended by my GR friend, Isamlq. And I didn’t see that one coming – the freakin’ revelation! I thought it was a brilliant book. Not my usual taste, but still brilliant.

variant

Variant by Robison Wells – this is very difficult to rate. At one point, I was giddy because of the strangeness. But something caught up, and I realized, I do not liked it that much. Although I will read the sequel, Feedback. Makes you think that some days, I liked Variant, right? Right now, I’m getting confused all over again. Ha!

See my full list of 2012 dystopian reads here.

x-x-x

the-dystopia-challenge-badge

2013 Dystopia Challenge

CONTAGION: Choose 15 books to read

I am not sure if I can read 20-30 books this year with this theme alone. So I will challenge myself with 12 books only – one for each month (3 remaining books could be an e-novella only, harharhar). I don’t need the pressure, thank you very much. I plan to read the books below, but as usual with plans, they (always) change over time.

  1. Flesh & Bone (Benny Imura #3) by Jonathan Maberry
  2. Sapphique (Incarceron #2) by Catherine Fisher
  3. Unwholly (Unwind #2) by Neal Shusterman
  4. Feed by M.T. Anderson
  5. Gone by Michael Grant
  6. The Lost Girl by Sangu Mandanna
  7. Skylark by Meagan Spooner
  8. Birthmarked by Caragh M. O’Brien
  9. Shipbreaker by Paolo Bacugalupi
  10. Eve by Anna Carey
  11. Dark Life by Kat Falls
  12. All These Things I’ve Done by Gabrielle Zevin

x-x-x

Are you into dystopian and/or post-apocalyptic books as well? If yes, I hope you can recommend a book for me to read and I will check it out. If no, but you are interested to try it, let me know. Perhaps I can entice you to read one. =)

maria

6 thoughts on “Challenge: Dystopia Challenge, 2012 Wrap-Up & 2013 Sign-Up

  1. I can’t remember the last time I read YA dystopia. I remember writing a post about it but I guess I fell out of love? Or maybe my real love are contemporaries? Hehe. I want to read All These Things I’ve Done, though, since it’s all about chocolate. 😀

  2. Pingback: 2012 Challenges Summary: BA’s Dystopia Reading Challenge « Bookish Ardour

  3. Pingback: 2013 Challenges Summary: Readers who Participated | Bookish Ardour

Hello! Lemme know what you think :)

