Required Reading: January

rr-january

Who’s feeling great this new year, huh? I do!

Maria’s New Year Reading Resolution

I believe that I will take my time in reading this year. More books to read out of my usual genre (YA). And more books to read from my ever-mounting TBR pile. *cross fingers* No to book hoarding!

(It’s the 4th day of 2013 but I already bought 3 books. I know, okay.)

Goodreads - The Filipino Group buddy reads

Goodreads – The Filipino Group buddy reads

  1. Fahrenheit 451 by Ray Bradbury – our book club’s book of the month. It’s a short read (my copy reminds me of The Catcher in the Rye I bought last year), so I’m looking forward to finishing it this weekend. I’m already loving how Bradbury tells Guy Montag’s story. =)
  2. Les Miserables by Victor Hugo – I’m not sure why I intend to read this… kidding! I told my friend Angus that I got goosebumps while watching the movie preview (with Anne Hathaway singing). Then, a support group/buddy read thread appeared in our Goodreads discussion. I swear, I only want to read the Lampara Classics edition (for kids to read, 90 pages at least). But I leveled up! I bought an abridged version, but let’s stop there. Ha!

065

  1. Spark (Sky Chasers #2) by Amy Kathleen Ryan – Hohoho! I loved Glow, it’s so dark for a YA sci-fi book. I hope this one’s good, too.
  2. Mercy by Rebecca Lim – I have to confess: I am only reading this because… I saw book 2 in The Book Depository’s Bargain Bucket. Haha! It’s less than 300 pages, so I think I can deal.

Angus of Book Rhapsody

Tina of One More Page

Lynai of It’s A Wonderful Bookworld

Monique of Marginalia

I fervently hope that 2013 will be a better year for you, dear reader. So let’s start it with positive vibes, shall we? 😉

10 thoughts on “Required Reading: January

  1. LES MIS! I wish I could say I was really peer pressured, but in reality, I just didn’t want to be OP. HAHA! But it’s good kind of motivation anyway, I think. 😀 And I agree with Angus — let’s watch the movie! 🙂

Hello! Lemme know what you think :)

