Elated: Best Reads of 2012

It’s the last day of the year, so I want to the remember those books that made my heart flutter, beat faster, and break harder than I would’ve have anticipated. =P

Here it goes!

03-heart-confetti-book-shoot

img from mywedding.com

The Girl Who Played with Fire (Millennium #2) by Stieg Larsson: Mystery/Suspense. definitely the rawest, most brutal among the series. I seriously admire Lisbeth Salander. *clap clap* This book was my first 5-star book this year.

The Reapers are the Angels by Alden Bell: Post-apocalyptic. Zombies. Temple tops my Most Kick-*ss Heroines list. She’s so, so cool. =)

Please Ignore Vera Dietz by A.S. King: Contemporary. I am 50/50 when it comes to contemp books, but Vera and Charlie owned me. OWNED me.

Deadline (Newsflesh #2) by Mira Grant: Post-apocalyptic. Zombies. Becks, you rocked my zombie-infested world! and Shaun, oh Shaun… 😦 made me teary-eyed almost after every freakin’ chapter.

Monsters of Men (Chaos Walking #3) by Patrick Ness: Science Fiction. What a triumphant ending. Chaos Walking trilogy is one of my fave series now.

The Perks of Being a Wallflower by Stephen Chbosky. Contemporary. Charlie’s the man! My 2nd 5-star contemp book and I absolutely loved every page of it.

Geek Girl by Cindy Bennett: Contemporary. This is quite a surprise for me. I was turned mush from start to finish.. by Trevor. Hee! I adored the story: predictable yet sweet. Can’t help but smile about it. 🙂

5-star faves

5-star faves

Onyx (Lux #2) by Jennifer L. Armentrout: Science Fiction. I am such a Daemon fan. ’nuff said.

Archangel’s Storm (Guild Hunter #5) by Nalini Singh: Adult Paranormal Romance. been a fan of this series for so long, but I have yet to find a favorite.. until now. Jason’s story got a 5-star-rating because of its solidity.

Stormdancer (Lotus War #1) by Jay Kristoff: Fantasy. This is what you call an investment. No matter how long it was, I thoroughly enjoyed it. Go, Buruu!

No Strings Attached by Mina V. Esguerra: Contemporary. My ultimate fave among MVE books. Like I said in my review, it fitted me like a glove.

Heartsick (Gretchen Lowell #1) by Chelsea Cain: Mystery/Suspense. My penchant for serial killers just got sharpened! I am in love with Chelsea Cain. Oh you evil, evil woman! 😉

Tiger Lily by Jodi Lynn Anderson: Fantasy. Beautiful Prose. Heartachingly numbing. My goodness, I didn’t realized Tiger Lily and Peter Pan will make me cry. But they did.

Alice in Zombieland (White Rabbit Chronicles #1) by Gena Showalter: Fantasy. Superbly Entertaining! and Cole Holland.. wow. *ahem*

My honorable mentions are as follows. 😉

easy1984a little wanting songthe roadunder the never skylife of pipaper townsremains of the day

the monstrumologist

the virgin suicides

glow.

.

.

.

.

These are the books that I didn’t expect much, but I was taken aback by how much I really liked them.

Whoa! What an unbelievable reading year I have. 😀

I’m assuming you had an awesome time, too? *winks*

Happy New Year, everyone!

8 thoughts on “Elated: Best Reads of 2012

  1. Oh my, I’ve only read Tiger Lily off your list. But there’s many there I’m trying to get to like the Chaos Walking series; and the Lux series is one that intrigues me, although I’m afraid it’ll be very likely the very things I dislike in YA…hmm…

  2. Ooo, great list, Maria! I LOVE so many of the books on your list, including Reapers, Stormdancer, Deadline (obviously!), Heartsick…and I liked Tiger Lily, Alice, and Easy, too. 🙂 It’s so fun to compare notes at the end of the year, isn’t it? Meet you again in 12 months! (Well, we’ll see each other before then…but you know what I mean!)

  3. Ay, I’ve forgotten about Under the Never Sky. I should have included it in my honorable mentions. I too, did not expect much from it but was pleasantly surprised when I kind of liked it. 🙂

    You’ve reminded me to go and read Millenium 2 already and also wrap up Chaos with Monsters of Men. Sana din I’ll have the guts to read a zombie novel this year. Hee.

    I am intrigued by Geek Girl and Tiger Lily. 🙂

    • Under the Never Sky is quite nice, right? 🙂 Perry! Tiger Lily is absolutely beautiful, while Geek Girl is super sweet. Be ready to cry buckets of tears in Monsters of Men. and please continue with the Millennium trilogy!

Hello! Lemme know what you think :)

