Book Review: Charlie and the Chocolate Factory by Roald Dahl

Rating: StarStarStarStar

Genre: Children’s Book > Fantasy

charlieandthechocolatefactoryThe gates of Willy Wonka’s famous chocolate factory are opening at last — and only five children will be allowed inside.

*****

Yay, that was fun! I didn’t expect to like this book, but it was entertaining, really. I love Grandpa Joe and that’s a fact. =)

Charlie‘s family is poor. They are usually cold and hungry. Imagine his delight when he got a golden ticket to enter Willy Wonka’s chocolate factory! *me looking for something chocolatey to munch on while reviewing*

I haven’t finished the movie adaptation starring Johnny Depp. Was it the same with the book? I read Charlie’s story 2-3 hours before GR-TFG Face-to-Face book discussion. Yes, I was pressured, but I made it a point to read every single Ooompa Looompa song. =) See, I did not cheat.

So… would I let my son read Charlie’s adventure? I say, why not. Because there was a discussion in our book club that debated the reward system versus punishment system (that was portrayed in the book). My stand is this: if ever my kid questions the punishment done to the children, I can always explain clearly that it was not meant to scare him, only to discipline. Tough love, that’s what. 🙂

I enjoyed Charlie and the Chocolate Factory. Now I’m wishing I can have a golden ticket too, say, to a Ferrero Rocher factory? 😉 YUM!

Hello! Lemme know what you think :)

