Book Review: Razorland #2: Outpost by Ann Aguirre

Rating: StarStarStarStar

Genre: Young Adult > Science Fiction

(Razorland #2)

Deuce’s whole world has changed. Down below, she was considered an adult. Now, topside in a town called Salvation, she’s a brat in need of training in the eyes of the townsfolk. She doesn’t fit in with the other girls: Deuce only knows how to fight.

To make matters worse, her Hunter partner, Fade, keeps Deuce at a distance. Her feelings for Fade haven’t changed, but he seems not to want her around anymore. Confused and lonely, she starts looking for a way out.

Deuce signs up to serve in the summer patrols—those who make sure the planters can work the fields without danger. It should be routine, but things have been changing on the surface, just as they did below ground. The Freaks have grown smarter. They’re watching. Waiting. Planning. The monsters don’t intend to let Salvation survive, and it may take a girl like Deuce to turn back the tide.

Book 1: Enclave review

*****

“He saved me too.” So many times, and in ways I couldn’t describe, as if I’ve been dying of a wound I didn’t know I’d taken.”

So. The romance that was lacking in Enclave? It’s all here. Unfortunately, the action scenes were only half of the first book. =( Oh, well. At least I got a big fix of FADE. *dreamy*

Love sounded so terrible if it  made you weak, you couldn’t survive without it.

If I didn’t read the acknowledgements page in the end, I would’ve been ignorant that the Freaks are not zombies. Yeah. I was sad about that. But the evolution of the Freaks here in Outpost did not coincide with what I know of zombies. So maybe, my assumption is incorrect in the first place.

I like Deuce here. She was clear on what she wants to do as part of Salvation. She was upfront to Fade and yeah, Stalker too. And she was still as bad*ss as before in dismembering the Freaks with her knives. Yeah! I liked that Aguirre did not waste time in dangling the romance chip. The relationship issues were dealt with right away, and with brutal honesty, in order to pave the way of developing the characters more.

Until then, I hadn’t realized I was so much like my own knives, sharp edged, cold, and perfect for keeping people at a distance.

I admit the post-apocalyptic world Aguirre created is still vague as it was in Enclave. The expectation I have in sequels were not met again. Obviously, I want to know more how Deuce’s world came as Downside, Topside, and Salvation.

This Razorland installment can be categorized as a “dystopian” romance, but I think that is a disservice. This was how I want Rebel Heart to have become.

“If I ever win you,” he said, anger bright in his pale eyes, “it will be because you want me more. Not because he’s gone. I’m nobody’s second best.”

– I love this line. Guess who said that? 😉

Outpost is more of a character-driven plot. This time, I didn’t mind that. I want FADE until now.

One thought on “Book Review: Razorland #2: Outpost by Ann Aguirre

  1. Pingback: Book Review: Horde by Ann Aguirre | reading is the ultimate aphrodisiac.

Hello! Lemme know what you think :)

