Book Review: Lumatere Chronicles #3: Quintana of Charyn by Melina Marchetta

RATING: StarStarStarStar

Genre: Young Adult > Fantasy

(Lumatere Chronicles #3)

There’s a babe in my belly that whispers the valley, Froi. I follow the whispers and come to the road . . .

Separated from the girl he loves and has sworn to protect, Froi must travel through Charyn to search for Quintana, the mother of Charyn’s unborn king, and protect her against those who will do anything to gain power. But what happens when loyalty to family and country conflict? When the forces marshalled in Charyn’s war gather and threaten to involve the whole of the land, including Lumatere, only Froi can set things right, with the help of those he loves.

Book 1 : Finnikin of the Rock review

Book 2: Froi of the Exiles review

*****

3.5 to be more exact.

Finnikin of the Rock is still my favorite. FAVORITE.

Finn vs Froi? Finn. =)
Isaboe vs Quintana? Isaboe.

But I am so thankful that Melina Marchetta wrapped this series without breaking my heart. 🙂

First half was satisfyingly gripping. Second half was just drama. I cannot wait to finish my reading agony when I was on the latter part of the story.

Quintana of Charyn was not as spectacular as I’d hoped, and that saddened me because this is Marchetta’s work I am talking about. Finnikin of the Rock was such an awesome start, Froi of the Exiles was a fantabulous sequel. Quintana of Charyn was beautiful in its own way, but it is nowhere near amazing as the first two books.

Let it be known that the bulk of POV in QofC is not Quintana, more like Froi and Phaedra and Lucian. I thought that Quintana went from this complicated, admirable character to a one-dimensional one. Quintana was just plain vengeful in this third book. All rage and spite. Where was the girl that Froi fell in love with?!! I could not find her anywhere! And that made me root for Isaboe more.Isaboe who was bent on punishing every Charynite in the most violent way possible. Isaboe who grieved but found the humility to help her greatest enemy.

Froi turned… soft. I dunno. He was not as formidable an assassin as before. He was blinded by his desperation to look for Quintana. What I do love about Froi is his unwavering sense of family for both his Lumateran and Charynite ties. Who would’ve thought a thief from Sarnak will be the key to peace among two kingdoms (or queendoms)?

Finnikin was my most prized possession in QofC. =) He was still this passionate and tenacious consort, a brilliant king and soldier, but just as irrational when he appeared in the first book. I admit I want more of him. more of him and Isaboe. Man, I’m so attached to Finn! And his complicated friendship with Froi? It was the best kind.

Quintana of Charyn was not the best installment in the Lumatere Chronicles, but it will do for the finale.

Hello! Lemme know what you think :)

