Required Reading: October

image courtesy of phonomuseum.at

*sigh*

I am in no mood to write posts lately. 😦

Have you seen my left sidebar? more than half of my widgets are gone. and I have no idea how they just vanished. Monday last week, everything’s fine. Three days later, I posted a book review and I noticed how bare my sidebar was. *cries*

I contacted WordPress Support and I was told that they never track the activities of our widgets. How can they be gone?!! I’m not on a shared desktop (for someone to mess it up). I don’t rearrangeΒ my widgetsΒ that often. So what the hell happened?

*sniffs*

Imagine me trying hard not to let it bother me. But I was most regretful of my “2012 Reads” widget. I listed there all the books I’ve read this year, complete with links. Crap. *bawling*

Okay.

Let’s move on dot com already.

It’s my first post for Required Reading! And since this is my birthday month, I want October to be my first. *beams* Note that I did not include my Kindle reads here because, let’s face it, I might caress my Kindle more than I will these books. So, see what anything you’ve read before?

October theme: Mystery / Suspense / Thriller / Horror

Please indulge me while I list the number of pages. It will urge me to finish them all! πŸ™‚

249 pgs Z for Zachariah | 282 pgs A Certain Slant of Light | 282 pgs The Near Witch

326 pgs Heartsick | 348 pgs Miss Peregrine’s Home for Peculiar Children

364 pgsΒ Brother Odd | 394 pgs Reckless | 499 pgs The Thirteenth Tale

Visit these other links too, for their required reading for October. =)

Angus of Book Rhapsody

Tina of One More Page

Lynai of It’s A Wonderful Bookworld

Monique of Marginalia

October. Birthday. Christmas (well, here in Manila, it is already).

EXCITEMENT!

20 thoughts on “Required Reading: October

  1. Looks like some really good books to read. I read The Near Witch and loved it! If you like it, then you should also check out Chime by Frannie Billingsley. That is horrible about your widgets! When something like that happens, it can just kill your mood for a while 😦

  2. Weee, advance happy birthday, Odeng! πŸ™‚

    I have a copy of The Thirteenth Tale but never got around to picking it up. I will wait for your review! πŸ™‚

  3. Boo, missing widgets. 😦

    And you have so many books on your list! Hee. I loved The Thirteenth Tale — it’s a bit boring at the first part, but it gets better about…oh, chapter 4. πŸ™‚ Hehe. And advance happy birthday!

  4. Yay for your birthday month!

    Sorry about your disappearing widgets! I wonder how that happened – now I’m paranoid about it.

    You have some nice spooky book choices, especially The Near Witch and Miss Peregrine. Hope you enjoy them all!

  5. YAAY! Hello October baby! πŸ˜‰

    What do you say we read The Thirteenth Tale together? Uhm, but it’s not on my list this month, so. Just asking. Hihi.

    And yes, I feel for you on lost widgets. Buti na lang widgets lang. Yung sa akin, buong site. Haha! :))

    • *high five* October baby!
      And yes to buddy reading The Thirteenth Tale, Lynai! It is last on my reading list, so it can wait. πŸ™‚
      Oh, no! the whole site? it really sucks big time, doesn’t it. oh well. moving on!

  6. Aw… Sorry to hear about your widgets. That sucks! 😦

    You know what, I think I caught your bug. I have 4 pending reviews to do but somehow I can’t get myself to write. Why, oh why? Tsk!

    Anyway, hooray for your birthday! I’d wish you more books to come (again, like last year) but I don’t think you’ll need it. ^______^

Hello! Lemme know what you think :)

