Book Review: No Strings Attached by Mina V. Esguerra

Rating: StarStarStarStarStar

Genre: Filipino Fiction > Contemporary

Carla is a whiz at her job: she’s efficient, reliable, and a total genius when it comes to putting something together at the last minute. The snag is she’s single and turning the big three-oh in a few months. Her girl best friend (yes, she’s married just like the other girls in Carla’s barkada) keeps trying to set her up with stable banker-types, while her guy best friend (single – the other single one) encourages her to play the field – no strings attached. Then, through no set up or extraordinary circumstance, Carla meets Dante. Hot, smug, sexy Dante. Definitely not a banker-type and seemingly too good to be true. So there’s got to be a catch. There is. He’s five years younger. Is the universe telling Carla to finally let loose and enjoy a fling with a younger man? Or is there a lot more to this awkward situation that she bargained for?

*****

Nearly everyday and twice on Saturdays.

Finally. A Mina V. Esguerra read that fitted me like a glove. *happiness*

I enjoyed No Strings Attached mainly because of relatability. Carla and I were almost the same age, and we have the same birthday! But that was just a plus 😀 I got The Marriage Club and the pressure she experienced from her married friends to settle down. I can relate but I am on the other side of the fence: I belonged to that Marriage Club. In my circle of friends from high school, only one girl remains single. But, let me clear this, I do not pressure her into anything. Why annoy her into settling down when she’s not ready for it?

Anyway, I like Carla up until she acted like a spoiled brat. But she did raise some valid points to her best friends Mary and Tonio.

Dante is… wow. Hee! He doesn’t sound like a 24-year-old to me! I want him. like really, really want him. *ahem* Dante’s a History professor and a Wushu instructor. He dotes on her younger brother Miko and takes care of her single mother. Too perfect, right? I don’t care! LOL

No Strings Attached is a fantastic quick read. It was perfectly imperfect (after all, I was irked when Dante didn’t take the time to listen to Carla). Still, this Esguerra read managed to make me kilig (swoon) from start to finish. Yay!

One thought on “Book Review: No Strings Attached by Mina V. Esguerra

  1. Pingback: Elated: Best Reads of 2012 « reading is the ultimate aphrodisiac.

Hello! Lemme know what you think :)

