Book Review: The Mortal Instruments #5: City of Lost Souls by Cassandra Clare

Rating: StarStarStar

Genre: Young Adult > Fantasy

(The Mortal Instruments #5)

When Jace and Clary meet again, Clary is horrified to discover that the demon Lilith’s magic has bound her beloved Jace together with her evil brother Sebastian, and that Jace has become a servant of evil. The Clave is out to destroy Sebastian, but there is no way to harm one boy without destroying the other. As Alec, Magnus, Simon, and Isabelle wheedle and bargain with Seelies, demons, and the merciless Iron Sisters to try to save Jace, Clary plays a dangerous game of her own. The price of losing is not just her own life, but Jace’s soul. She’s willing to do anything for Jace, but can she still trust him? Or is he truly lost?

Love. Blood. Betrayal. Revenge. Darkness threatens to claim the Shadowhunters in the harrowing fifth book of the Mortal Instruments series.

Book 4: City of Fallen Angels review

*****

I’ll repeat: Cassandra Clare should’ve stopped the series at City of Glass.

If I immerse myself enough in the Shadowhunter world and just be mindlessly entertained, I can forget how City of Lost Souls is still lacking. Unfortunately, I refuse to delude myself that City of Lost Souls did anything to advance the plot, story and character-building of The Mortal Instruments series. But I have to say that this is a sneeze better than City of Fallen Angels.

The POVs of Simon and Isabelle are more fun to read. The idea of the floating abode of Jace and Sebastian fascinated me. The character of Jace-who-is-not-Jace is really good. I still like him, but since it’s not really him, so I was cagey around him just like Clary.

Just when I thought I was liking Alec, he went and did something that is not cool. Magnus is still the magnetic character I enjoy, and his role here doesn’t change that. I’m not sure where Maia and Jordan have POVs; will be their characters be essential in the last book to merit their voices heard?

Plot? forget it. Let’s just read about Shadowhunters making out, getting any, not getting any, breaking up, parting with bitter goodbyes. It’s exasperating that it’s book 5 already and Jace and Clary are still dancing around that big elephant in the room called sex. Goodness, just be done with it already!

City of Lost Souls uplifted me up a little from my disappointment with City of Fallen Angels. But now that I think about it, reading about The Mortal Instruments series is getting tiresome. It will be a relief when this series draws to a close.

Yay, one more book to go. :/

2 thoughts on “Book Review: The Mortal Instruments #5: City of Lost Souls by Cassandra Clare

  1. I tend to agree that this series has gone on too long. I still haven’t read this book yet, but I’m glad you liked it a little better than the last book. There’s a lot of different character POV’s now, huh? Your review does have me more curious about this book to see what’s going on with Jace and to hear about this floating abode! Nice review, Maria!

    • Thanks Lucy! I think you can put off reading this series for a while. it really does take a toll on you, endlessly reading on Jace & Clary’s almost doomed relationship. Yes, there’s Alec’s, Simon, and Isa’s POVs here. 🙂 and imagine waking up and you’re in Prague!

Hello! Lemme know what you think :)

