Book Review: Lies Beneath by Anne Greenwood Brown

Rating: StarStarStar

Genre: Young Adult > Fantasy > Mermaids

(Lies Beneath #1)

Calder White lives in the cold, clear waters of Lake Superior, the only brother in a family of murderous mermaids. To survive, Calder and his sisters prey on humans and absorb their positive energy. Usually, they select their victims at random, but this time around, the underwater clan chooses its target for a reason: revenge. They want to kill Jason Hancock, the man they blame for their mother’s death.

It’s going to take a concerted effort to lure the aquaphobic Hancock onto the water. Calder’s job is to gain Hancock’s trust by getting close to his family. Relying on his irresistible good looks and charm, Calder sets out to seduce Hancock’s daughter Lily. Easy enough, but Calder screws everything up by falling in love–just as Lily starts to suspect there’s more to the monster-in-the-lake legends than she ever imagined, and just as the mermaids threaten to take matters into their own hands, forcing Calder to choose between them and the girl he loves.

One thing’s for sure: whatever Calder decides, the outcome won’t be pretty.

*****

Lies Beneath – my first YA mermaid novel… and it was not bad. If I ignore my knee-jerk reaction to two Eew moments, I liked the mermaid lore. Here in the Philippines, mermaid tales are common, and indeed we (during childhood) are told that they are the reason behind people disappearances in lakes, rivers, and such.

They say Lake Superior doesn’t give up its dead.

It took me 70% of the book before I can really hook myself to the story. Why? The “courtship” between Calder and Lily was a definite eyeroll, so I keep putting my Kindle down. It will take me a day to pick it up again. Calder was cocky. Lily said she was immune to his charms but. but. Lily’s confusing. She tells off Calder everytime he hits on her, but she herself makes advances on him. Gosh, what do you really want, woman?

I like the Jack angle. It was creepy and I wish Brown developed that more. I have few issues but I’m not that irked about them. Stalking? Talking to a dead, floating body? Yeah, they don’t bother me as much.

Lies Beneath contained vengeful and ruthless sea creatures. If you have not tried mermaid books, this book can make you curious enough to read about them more.

Publisher: Random House Publishing Group

Imprint: Delacorte Books for Young Readers

Pub Date: 06/12/2012

Thank you NetGalley and Random House for granting my galley request.

Hello! Lemme know what you think :)

