Book Review: Guild Hunter #5: Archangel’s Storm by Nalini Singh

Rating: StarStarStarStarStar

Genre: Adult Paranormal Romance > Angels | Vampires

(Guild Hunter #5)

With wings of midnight and an affinity for shadows, Jason courts darkness. But now, with the Archangel Neha’s consort lying murdered in the jewel-studded palace that was his prison and her rage threatening cataclysmic devastation, Jason steps into the light, knowing he must unearth the murderer before it is too late.

Earning Neha’s trust comes at a price—Jason must tie himself to her bloodline through the Princess Mahiya, a woman with secrets so dangerous, she trusts no one. Least of all an enemy spymaster.

With only their relentless hunt for a violent, intelligent killer to unite them, Jason and Mahiya embark on a quest that leads to a centuries-old nightmare… and to the dark storm of an unexpected passion that threatens to drench them both in blood.

Book 1: Archangel’s Blood review | Book 2: Archangel’s Kiss review

Book 3: Archangel’s Consort review | Book 4: Archangel’s Blade review

*****

Whenever I thought of my reading experience of Archangel’s Storm, only one word comes to mind. Sophisticated.

This is my favorite Guild Hunter story to date! Jason, you’re so awesome, but Ilium is still the angel for me. 🙂

I’ve known since Angels’ Blood that Jason will be a very interesting character. I was right. Archangel’s Storm has a sturdy storyline, fluid and very consistent characters, and (yes, I felt that I should stress this) refined and not-so-frequent lovemaking scenes. Oh yes, Nalini Singh, I am a very, very happy reader indeed!

Jason is slow-burning. His cunning and brilliant perception of people and situations are amazing. I liked the fact that Jason and Mahiya started off as suspicious of each other. No insta-love there. And their secrets are revealed one at a time. Snippets of Jason’s horrible memories from childhood appeared progressively throughout the book, making me anticipate more with every turn of a page. I reveled at the idea that Jason will never say pretty words and offer beautiful lies to Mahiya. It adhered to his character so much, making his affinity with shadows and darkness all the more enticing.

For Jason and Mahiya who never wanted to reveal all their secrets, intimacy and sex will be an issue. But Singh handled those scenes magnificently. How? It took me half of the book before there ever was a sex scene. And if you ever read any of Singh’s works, that showed restraint! Just like Jason, who contains his strength and allows no one to tie himself with. It was played beautifully, both Jason and Mahiya vulnerable to each other, making it memorable. Horrors of their past compared to finding each other and accepting the darkness with it? So worth it! I wished they have a scene where they could’ve danced at well. *winks*

In some twisted way, I like Neha. Ruthless and cruel, but she has honor. And despite the arrogance that is naturally inherent to archangels, it is apparent that Neha loved her consort.

But I’m not sure why there are Dmitri’s POV in this installment. I think I had enough of him and Honor from Archangel’s Blade. It did nothing to add to Jason’s story… so why am I reading about Dmitri again?

I adored Jason’s story so much. Now. I. Want. Ilium’sPlease, Nalini Singh?

4 thoughts on “Book Review: Guild Hunter #5: Archangel’s Storm by Nalini Singh

  1. Pingback: Elated: Best Reads of 2012 « reading is the ultimate aphrodisiac.

  2. Pingback: Book Review: Archangel’s Legion by Nalini Singh | reading is the ultimate aphrodisiac.

Hello! Lemme know what you think :)

