Book Review: My Imaginary Ex by Mina V. Esguerra

Rating: StarStarStarStar

Genre: Filipino Fiction > Contemporary

Here’s what happens when you play pretend.

When Zack asks Jasmine to pretend to be his ex-girlfriend, she gamely agrees, thinking it would be fun. A few years later, she still has to keep convincing people that they were never together! Then one day, she finds out he’s getting married—to someone she’d just met once! All of a sudden, things aren’t so clear-cut anymore. Can Jasmine sort out her feelings (sometimes, she can’t even tell real from pretend when it comes to her and Zack) before it’s too late?

*****

Here’s what happens when you play pretend. Love sneaks up on you.

What’s the English word for torpe? You know, that guy you’re friends with who doesn’t make a move on you because he’s afraid to lose your friendship? Yeah, that’s Zack personified. I’m not a fan of torpe guys, but I can make an exception with him. Besides, I always liked love stories between two people who started out as friends first. I should know. That’s my love story right there.

And I agree that Jasmine is dense. But that doesn’t mean I tolerate Zack’s hot and cold treatment of her. Their story was sweet and cute, though.

The clincher for me here is that Zack was Kimmie’s Zack from Love Your Frenemies. I was like, Oh. So this is the jerk fiancé who left her for good after his Bachelor party. I was so psyched! I got to know the story before Kimmie’s “supposed” humiliation.

Anyway, I also like Zack’s philosophy in life. See, he have different set of friends that he spends time with on separate occasions. When Jasmine asked her why he’s like that, I remembered he looked at her like she was crazy. Then he said, “So that there’s not one person who knows everything about me.” Interesting, isn’t it? 😉

Based on the book blurb alone, I thought i will like My Imaginary Ex (same thing that I didn’t think much of Fairy Tale Fail, and I didn’t like it), and I was right.

Hello! Lemme know what you think :)

