Book Review: Under the Never Sky by Veronica Rossi

RATING: StarStarStarStar

Genre: Young Adult > Dystopia | Sci-Fi

(Under the Never Sky #1)

Since she’d been on the outside, she’d survived an Aether storm, she’d had a knife held to her throat, and she’d seen men murdered. This was worse.

Exiled from her home, the enclosed city of Reverie, Aria knows her chances of surviving in the outer wasteland – known as The Death Shop – are slim. If the cannibals don’t get her, the violent, electrified energy storms will. She’s been taught that the very air she breathes can kill her. Then Aria meets an Outsider named Perry. He’s wild – a savage – and her only hope of staying alive.

A hunter for his tribe in a merciless landscape, Perry views Aria as sheltered and fragile – everything he would expect from a Dweller. But he needs Aria’s help too; she alone holds the key to his redemption. Opposites in nearly every way, Aria and Perry must accept each other to survive. Their unlikely alliance forges a bond that will determine the fate of all who live under the never sky.

*****

The lack of explanation for the dystopian element made me think of Legend by Marie Lu. I didn’t mind, though. I hope to see more world building in the next books. First half was frustrating (with Aria so high-and-mighty and Perry so irrationally jealous towards his brother, Vale); Second half was more to my liking.

Under the Never Sky reminded me of romance novels I used to read before. Take Perry, for instance. He could have passed for a Highlander, you know, those Scot warriors who are big, bad, scarred yet beautiful? Same with the Death Shop setting: (1) You defend the land you have, (2) You trade goods (food, weapons) by marrying off the women to another tribe, (3) The need to defeat and slay the chief of a tribe in order to become the chief (here they are called Blood Lord).

Aria is so whiny, and rude, too. I want the cannibals to end her miserable life right then and there. My feelings changed when she started practicing knife-wielding with Roar (I like this guy! I want more of him). Still not enough strength to survive in a dystopian world, but she might, in the next installments.Perry is not my typical Prince Charming. and yet he grew on me. The gruff and savage exterior is hard to break, but it is breakable. I love how his character transformed in the second half. Who doesn’t admire a guy who handles a bow and arrow with lethal accuracy, right? He’s also handy with knives. Rougish. Blond dreadlocks. Dangerously violent when needed but loyal to a fault to his family. My kind of guy!

The brutal encounter between Perry and the cannibals are so fun! Add to that the inevitable showdown between Vale and Perry for the title of Blood Lord of the Tides. Yipee! These gory fight scenes definitely made reading this worthwhile. 😀

The romance made me squeal a little. 🙂 It was not instant, but it was.. just right, i guess. Warm and feel-good romance. Maybe i’m feeling sad lately, because that ending made me smile so wide. Hee!

The Pods where the dwellers live might need a little more exposure in the coming books. and the Aether – i really hope Rossi explains more of that, too. But the Death Shop, I love the concept. All the more with the Auds, Scire, and other Marked people.

Several holes in the plot (believe me, you’ll notice it too), but i enjoyed the last part. If ever you’ll read Under the Never Sky, make sure you have a bag of patience beside you.

4 thoughts on “Book Review: Under the Never Sky by Veronica Rossi

  1. It’s true! I really ended up loving this book but the first half took a while for me to get into. I think the romance is really what got me in the end! I liked that it wasn’t instant and took time and played out quite nicely. Oh and I LOVED Roar! We better get to see more of him in the second book!!

  2. Pingback: Book Review: Under the Never Sky #2: Through the Ever Night by Veronica Rossi « reading is the ultimate aphrodisiac.

  3. Pingback: Book Review: Into The Still Blue by Veronica Rossi | reading is the ultimate aphrodisiac.

Hello! Lemme know what you think :)

