Book Review: Sweet Evil by Wendy Higgins

Rating: StarStarStarStar

Genre: Young Adult > Supernatural > Angels

What if there were teens whose lives literally depended on being bad influences?

This is the reality for sons and daughters of fallen angels.

Tenderhearted Southern girl Anna Whitt was born with the sixth sense to see and feel emotions of other people. She’s aware of a struggle within herself, an inexplicable pull toward danger, but Anna, the ultimate good girl, has always had the advantage of her angel side to balance the darkness within. It isn’t until she turns sixteen and meets the alluring Kaidan Rowe that she discovers her terrifying heritage and her willpower is put to the test. He’s the boy your daddy warned you about. If only someone had warned Anna.

Forced to face her destiny, will Anna embrace her halo or her horns?

*****

Sweet angel theme reminds me of A Need So Beautiful.
Evil sexy theme reminds me of Obsidian.

Yesterday, I was having a major (bad) field day and i needed some distraction. I scanned my Kindle contents and found Sweet Evil. I only meant to read a chapter or two, just to have a feel if it is as intriguing as its blurb. what do you know… i finished reading Sweet Evil 10 minutes before midnight. Wow! a good distraction indeed. 🙂

Guardian angels versus demons. battling it out through whispers. whispers to humans. whether they would succumb to the tempting ideas planted by the demon whisperers. or listen to their guardian angels. i like this theme very much.

I was surprised with Sweet Evil. there’s bits and pieces there that showed Ana’s compassion to the poor, Ana reprimanding Kaidan for easily passing judgement to other people, Ana reluctantly telling the truth when lies will hurt less.

Ana is a good girl, yes. But that doesn’t mean she wasn’t tempted to try bad stuff. The pull was strong for drugs and alcohol. Add to that a literal man-sl*t called Kaidan. Kaidan is not as bad as his character suggested (I’d still go for Wesley Rush of The Duff: Designated Ugly Fat Friend for a hot body and sexy mouth), but Kai has his devious, seductive moments. 🙂

I will not go in character detail since i’m just vying for an escape on reading. Jay‘s okay (just a little weird). Ana’s demon father was the bomb! So cool, so bad-ass. Also, as long as first impressions go, Kope is a step higher than Kaidan.

I didn’t like that Ana responds to Kope that she did with Kaidan, though. I mean yeah, i see a love triangle brewing, but it felt like Ana gets flattered by any guy who shows interest in her. I thought you’re into Kaidan? So why the face flush with Kope? *indignant*

But those swoon moments and hot scenes between Ana and Kaidan… *fans myself* Ahem! i think there was three major ones. Of course i counted. Duh. 😀 i haven’t read any sexy books in a while. I haven’t read any sexy books with solid and good content in a while.

Sweet Evil is an easy and entertaining read. Luscious and smoldering, it is the perfect distraction I craved for.

12 thoughts on “Book Review: Sweet Evil by Wendy Higgins

  1. I have this one on my shelf, and it looks great, but you never know with angel books. So glad to read your positive review. I’ll have to bump it up the list. I like the Obsidian comparison too. Awesome review!

  2. I didn’t like Anna at all! This book had so many weird things going on for me and the only thing I truly liked about this was Kaidan. Although I also liked Jay and the other nephs a bit. I didn’t buy the whole love triangle. It just felt forced to me but despite all the flaws, I still ended up liking this.

  3. I keep being told how awesome this book is! I think I’ll just buckle under peer pressure and read it already. Hehe. Thanks for the awesome (and very convincing) review, Maria.

  4. Pingback: Book Review: Sweet Peril by Wendy Higgins | reading is the ultimate aphrodisiac.

  5. Pingback: Book Review: Sweet Reckoning by Wendy Higgins | reading is the ultimate aphrodisiac.

Hello! Lemme know what you think :)

