Splurged: LOTR, Blackout, Ready Player One

For the month of June, I spent $100 in books. Waaa!

This coming Saturday, Goodreads- The Filipino Group will discuss book 1 of the Lord of the Rings trilogy, The Fellowship of the Ring. Guess who is the moderator for our discussion? Yep. That would be me. *throws confetti*

Well, i read the trilogy already way back in college. Back then, i borrowed my older brother’s paperback copies. But they are long gone (we were flooded last 2006 and that’s the end of his LOTR collection, including his HP series too). I never imagined i would need new copies because i never intended to reread Tolkien. And yet, here i am (currently at p255 of book 1). =)

A buddy read on our GR group is the Newsflesh series by Mira Grant. I loved Feed (even if it broke my heart into zombie-llion pieces). Naturally, i will buy Deadline. But i have to admit i am still plucking up the courage to read this second book. Ha!

And there’s also City of Lost Souls by Cassandra Clare (which up to now I haven’t bothered to pick up). I’m still miffed about the previous book’s ending, so no excitement here. Boo! lol

Then my officemates who travelled on business came home from the US. Obviously, i’d take the opportunity to buy books from Amazon then ask them bring the books home with them. First batch is Genesis by Bernard Beckett, Lips Touch: Three Times by Laini Taylor, and Ready Player One by Ernest Cline. Both Genesis and Lips Touch: Three Times gained 4 stars from me. Yay! I have yet to read Ready Player One this July. ;)

Second batch is Blackout by Mira Grant, When the Sea is Rising Red by Cat Hellisen, and Hold Me Closer, Necromancer by Lish McBride. Yeah, you like them, too??? Nice!

At a nearby bookstore on sale, I spotted a copy of The Pillars of the Earth by Ken Follett in very mint condition! See, i already have a mass market paperback copy, but i just can’t help but admire this edition. :)

By now, I am promising myself that i would not buy books for a month or two. Unless it’s on sale. Whoopee!

Which books have you read? Can you recommend them?

Cheers!

6 thoughts on “Splurged: LOTR, Blackout, Ready Player One

  1. I quite liked When the Sea is Riding Red because it is very different from what’s on the market right now. I totally want to read Ready Player One too!

Hello! Lemme know what you think :)

