Book Review: The Chocolate War by Robert Cormier

RATING: Star

Genre: Young Adult > Contemporary | Realistic Fiction

Jerry Renault ponders the question on the poster in his locker: Do I dare disturb the universe? Refusing to sell chocolates in the annual Trinity school fund-raiser may not seem like a radical thing to do. But when Jerry challenges a secret school society called The Vigils, his defiant act turns into an all-out war. Now the only question is: Who will survive? First published in 1974, Robert Cormier’s groundbreaking novel, an unflinching portrait of corruption and cruelty, has become a modern classic.

*****

I guess there is no way to soften the blow, but The Chocolate War is senseless to me. i thought the book has no purpose. It is my first time to encounter a story without a likely hero. Man, this really sucked for me! My apologies to my dear GR friends who liked The Chocolate War. Like what i said, agree to disagree. right? =)

I guess what i’m looking for is this: a ray of hope, a sliver or chance that maybe, maybe in the end something good will happen. How i believe in karma! it was unfortunate that such karma is beyond reach to JerryGoober, and to anyone else who felt oppressed, physically or psychologically, in this book.

I hate bullies. and i believe bullying was glorified in the end. what was all the sacrifices for, if not to wholly succeed after the debacle? Yep, the story was SENSELESS. A book doesn’t always have to have a happy ending, but my gosh, The Chocolate War did not give me even a little morsel to cheer on after i read it! Ugh. Bad chocolate taste.

YA books should empower its teen readers, and not suffocate them with an ugly truth without telling them that they CAN survive the harshness of life.

*Sniffs* can someone send me a MARS chocolate bar to ease my bitterness? =)

 

Hello! Lemme know what you think :)

